Research shortcut for HIST 4800: American Memory
Welcome to our research guide, which will provide historical context for the COVID-19 pandemic.
- Use the sources on this tab (Home) to search for primary and secondary sources on your own.
- Each of the other tabs contains selected digitized sources related to different pandemics throughout history.
Search for primary sources
- Accessible Archives CompleteFull text primary sources from 18th and 19th century America, mainly newspapers, including the Pennsylvania Gazette, the Virginia Gazette, Godey's Lady's Book, Frederick Douglass Paper, a collection of South Carolina Newspapers, and a collection of African American newspapers.
Search digitized historical newspapers
What was the date range of the epidemic you're researching? Check these tools to see if they cover all or part of that date range.
- Local Newspaper Digital Archive, 1867-1958Digitized newspapers from Wood County, including the Sentinel-Tribune, Bradner Advocate, Risingsun Unique Weekly, Risingsun Unique Derrick, etc.
- Chronicling AmericaSearchable database of newspapers from all over the U.S., published 1789-1925
- New York Times HistoricalThe entire contents of the New York Times from 1851 to three years ago.
Search for secondary sources
eBooks
- Summon**Limit your search to Ebooks only by selecting Books/eBooks under the "content type" limiter (left menu) in your search results
Articles
- JSTOROver a thousand full-text scholarly journals and books covering all subjects in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. History, economics, art, literature, and mathematics are particularly strong. All journal titles are archived back to the first issue, many dating from the early 1800s.
- America: History & Life (EBSCO)Index to scholarly journal articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
- Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)Index to scholarly journal articles from international historical journals, covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
- Project MUSE - Standard CollectionAn interdisciplinary collection of hundreds of high quality, peer reviewed, scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. All titles in the Standard Collection are full text.
