Module 1 - Answers
BGSU
Home Academics Admissions The Arts Athletics Libraries Offices

WebWIZARD  Tags: websites web_wizard web_searching  

Your guide to becoming an effective web searcher.
Last update: Sep 10th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.bgsu.edu/webwizard  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

WebWizard

Use WebWizard to test your Web skills!  Is the Web always the best place to go for information?  What does the University Libraries offer that the Web doesn't?  When is it better to go to the Web than the library?  For what types of information should you check both the Web and the library?

Walking through the various modules in this guide will test your skills, as well as help you develop new ones.  After you've gone through Module 1, the self-test, you don't have to follow the rest of the modules in any numerical order.  A quick overview of each module:

Module 1 - Are you a Web Wizard?  Take the Self-Test!

Module 1 - Answers to the Web Wizard Self-Test

Module 2 - Research Database or Search Engine?
For certain kinds of information seeking, it makes sense to use the Web. But don't forget about the 300+ Research Databases that the BGSU Libraries subscribe to for your academic research needs. Learn essential differences between Research Databases and Web searching.

Module 3 - Searching the Web
Learn helpful tricks to searching the Web more efficiently. Check out some of these useful pointers.

Module 4 - Searching Research Databases
Explore this module to discover more about searching research databases. Research databases are the ideal tool to use when you need to locate scholarly, reputable articles.

Module 5 - Evaluating Web sites
Some information on the Web is great while some is not. Use this list of criteria to determine the credibility of a Web site.

Module 6 - Citing Web sites and Research Databases
Citing books and printed material is challenging enough without adding the online resources. Here is some information that will make citing sources from the Web and the Research Databases more manageable.

Module 7 - Problem-Based Learning Activities
Improve your search skills while trying to solve some of these real-life problems.

Evaluation Checklist - For evaluating Web sites.

Ask Us! - Visit this page to see all the ways you can get help: by IM, by email, by phone, and in-person at the Research & Information Desk.


 

Created by

WebWIZARD was created by:

Colleen Boff
cboff@bgsu.edu
419.372.7901

Catherine Cardwell
cardcat@bgsu.edu
419.372.7903

and is maintained by:

Katherine Najacht
knajach@bgsu.edu
419.372.2362

 

Ask Us!

Profile ImageResearch & Information Desk


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Jerome Library
Research & Information Desk
419.372.6943
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait