This is the "Home" page of the "Visiting Scholars" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Visiting Scholars  

This guide provides information to visiting scholars of University Libraries at Bowling Green State University.
Last Updated: Jun 21, 2012 URL: http://libguides.bgsu.edu/visitingscholars Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Special Collections

Click on each floor to explore our special collections.

CAC
PCL
MLSRA

 

CRC

GDC

 

Accessing Wifi

To obtain wireless access in the library during your visit, you will need to speak with a librarian at one of the Reference/Services Desks in one of the Special Collections areas or at the main floor Research/Information Desk. 

The librarian can obtain guest access for you from the Technology Support Center at 2-0999.

Using Archives

The Society of American Archivists offer a free 16 page guide, "Using Archives:  A Guide to Effective Research" that is applicable to both new and veteran users of archives.  This link will connect you to both web and downloadable pdf versions of this tool.

 

What to Bring With You

There are a few things you might want to make sure you have for your visit.

  • Photo I.D. - many areas require a photo I.D. in order to view materials
  • Money to purchase a BG1 card if you want to make photocopies
  • Flash drive (or some kind of external storage device) on which to put scans or full-text of materials if you do not wish to email
 

Driving Directions

BGSU's campus is located right next to I-75!  To get to the library, exit at #181 on I-75 and go west on Wooster St. (e.g. turn toward campus).  At the second light (Mercer Rd.), turn right.  Turn on the first street to the left (Ridge St.).  At the first stop sign, keeping going until you reach Lot N (first lot to the left) and the library is on the left (building with murals on the side).

 

Campus Parking

Information on parking for visitors can be found at http://www.bgsu.edu/offices/parking/page25620.html.  Lot N, right next to the library, has some visitor parking in the first three rows of spaces.  You can purchase parking permits at the Visitor's Center or at kiosks next to the lot at $.25 per 15 minutes.  There is no limit on those.

 

Campus Dining Options

Bowling Green State University Dining Services take cash at all locations. Please note that most of the Student Union dining options will be closed for renovations May-August 2012.  For maps and hours please visit the Dining Services website.

The library's cafe, Thinkers @ Outakes, will be open intermittenly throughout the summer.  Check here for hours: http://ul2.bgsu.edu/hours/hours.php

 

Store Your Stuff


Photo credit: Kate Najacht

If you need a safe place to stash your stuff for the day, you can borrow a lock from the Circulation Desk and help yourself to one of our lockers. Just make sure you retrieve your belongings and return the lock before the library closes!

 

Contact Information

Contact Information for:

 Hours for archives and special collections branches differ from the main library.  Check here for hours: http://ul2.bgsu.edu/hours/hours.php

 

Photocopying

To make copies, you'll need to purchase a guest card. You can purchase one for $2.00 from the machine across from the circulation desk on the first floor. 

Using the same machine, add enough cash to the card to cover the copying you want to do. Prices for copying in color and black-and-white are posted near the copy machines. 

Save your guest card! You can add money to it and reuse it as much as you like. Unfortunately, none of our copy machines accept coins or other forms of payment, so it's the only way to make copies.

The cost for printing is:

$0.05 for a one side printed black and white page

$0.09 for a two side printed black and white page

$0.18 for a one side printed color page

$0.35 for a two side printed color page

 

Hotel Accomodations

If you are planning to visit University Libraries and need lodging, consult OneTravelSource.com for hotels in Bowling Green, Ohio.

 

Local Attractions

Information regarding local attractions can be found at Visit BG Ohio.

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip