A guide to identifying and finding U.S. government publications and data during the 2013 government shutdown.
Last Updated: Oct 14, 2013
- BGSU Library Catalog
The catalog is great place to start searching for print and electronic government documents. You can narrow your search to just government documents using the "Location" field. Many U.S. government documents are listed in the BGSU Library Catalog, with links to the online full text of the document.
- FDSys (Federal Digital System)
FDSys provided access to a wide variety of databases that contain full text U.S. government documents. FDSys is still available during the shutdown. However, most databases within FDSys aren't being updated. The exceptions are Congressional materials and some information from the Federal Register, which continue to be updated.
- USA.gov: U.S. Government Information by Topic
USA.gov is still up and running during the shutdown. It provides a wide variety of government information on many topics.
- United States Serial Set (ProQuest Congressional) , 1789 - present
The U.S. Serial Set contains the published working papers of Congress. It includes hundreds of thousands of House and Senate reports, State of the Union messages, Congressional journals, hearings, high-resolution maps, and more. This database is from a private company and is still available during the shutdown.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
This is an excellent place to find a wide variety of statistics and continues to be available during the shutdown.