This is the "Property Research Resources" page of the "CAC Class Webpages" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

CAC Class Webpages  

Last Updated: Jun 24, 2014 URL: http://libguides.bgsu.edu/cacclasswebpages Print Guide RSS Updates

Property Research Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

First Steps

  • Select a piece of property
  • Go to the County Recorder's Office to get the legal description of the property
  • Using Deed Records, compile a list of the owners. Remember to record the dates! Remember to get all the previous owners.
  • For Wood County properties, use the Geographical Index
 

Where to Research the History of Your Property

  • Local Archives, Library & Historical Society
  • County Courthouse
  • Municipal Offices
  • Corporate & Institutional Records
  • Center for Archival Collections
  • Private Collections
  • External Resources
 

Private Collections

  • Personal Papers/Manuscripts
  • Letters/Diaries
  • Photographs/Postcards
  • Scrapbooks/Albums
  • Family Bible Records
  • Interviews and Oral Histories
  • Architectural Drawings
  • Title Abstracts
 

Local Archives, Library & Historical Society

Secondary Sources

  • City & County Histories
  • Corporate Histories

Pictorial Collections

  • Postcards
  • Photographs
  • Prints

Maps

Other Sources

  • City Directories/Gazetteers
  • Newspapers
  • Builders and Trade Catalogs
  • Architectural Drawings
  • Manuscript Collections
  • Oral Histories
  • Tax Duplicates
  • Deed Indexes
  • Cemetery Records

Census Records

The CAC holds Population Schedules for all of Ohio (1820-1930) and Agriculture and Manufacturing Schedules for northwest Ohio counties for 1870-1880. Population Schedules may list all members of the household, their ages, occupations, relationships, and place of birth; Agriculture and Manufacturing Schedules give information about crops grown and products made.

  • Population
  • Agriculture
  • Manufacturing
 

County Courthouse

Auditor's Office/Board of Equalization

  • Plat Books
  • Assessor's Cards
  • Tax Duplicate Records
  • Industrial Appraisal Records
  • Reappraisements
  • Oil and Gas Returns

Recorder

  • Plat Maps
  • Deed Records
  • Geographical Index
  • Mechanic's Lien Records
  • Mortgage Records

Clerk of Courts

  • Common Pleas Court Records

Probate Court

  • Will Records
  • Vital Records: Births, Marriages, Deaths
  • Estate Records

Engineer

  • Aerial Photographs
  • Ditch & Road Survey Records
  • Survey Records

Commissioners

  • Commissioners' Journals
  • Building Cards
  • Building Permits
  • Building Plans
 

Municipal Offices

Buildings & Inspections

  • Building Permits
  • Building Cards
  • Demolition Permits

Engineering Office

  • Maps
  • Aerial Photographs

Water Works

  • Water & Sewer Tap Records

Clerk's Office

  • Ordinances
  • City Bulletins
 

Corporate and Institutional Records

Churches

  • Dedication Pamphlets
  • Marriage Records
  • Baptismal Records
  • Account Books
  • Church Bulletins

Companies

  • Written Histories
  • Maps
  • Ledgers, Account Books
  • Photographs
  • Interviews
  • Annual Reports
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip