How to get started
This is a guide to help you get started with your research for Dr. Coletta's POPC 1650. If you need assistance, my information is in the box to the right below.
Searching Summon for Biographical Information
Use Summon to find articles about a particular person! Just use quotes around their name and you should be good to go.
Using Summon
The best way to find information in Summon on particular individuals is to put their name in quotation marks.
Ex. "walt disney"
Ex. "walt disney" impact
Ex. "walt disney" influence
Ex. "walt disney" influence "whatever-their-industry"
- "walt disney" influence "motion pictures"
Popular Culture Databases
- Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary full-text database that includes scholarly journal articles on all subjects as well as magazines, books and book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, and more.
- Communication & Mass Media CompleteIndexing, abstracts and full text for journals in communication studies, covering topics such as journalism, mass media, and communicative disorders.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full TextBooks and articles covering research in television and film.
- Independent VoicesAn open access collection of alternative press material.
- JSTOROver a thousand full-text scholarly journals and books covering all subjects in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. History, economics, art, literature, and mathematics are particularly strong. All journal titles are archived back to the first issue, many dating from the early 1800s.
- Kanopy
A streaming service for thousands of videos from major educational film producers and distributors. See our Kanopy LibGuide for more information.
- MasterFILE PremierDesigned for public libraries, this database contains full text for popular magazines, reference works, and travel books.
- MLA International BibliographyA detailed index to journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations published on subjects in modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
- Music IndexIndexing for international music periodicals, including scholarly journals, covering music history, theory and performance, ethnomusicology, education, popular music, and the music industry.
- OnTheBoards.tvFull-length, high quality video of contemporary performance of theater, dance, and music.
- PollstarPollstarPro is a database of worldwide concert tour schedules, ticket sales results, music industry contact directories, trade news and specialized data services. Access to this resource is by password only. To obtain the password, log in to our resources site. Contact the Research and Information Desk for more information.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson)Index to articles published in the popular press between 1890 and 1982 from hundreds of magazines like Collier's, Harper's, The New Republic, Popular Science, and The Saturday Evening Post.
- Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975A database of photographs, images, manuscripts, rare printed material documenting the music, politics, fashion and youth culture in America and Great Britain from 1950-1975.
- Vogue ArchiveA complete, searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month. Includes every article, cover, photo shoot, illustration and advertisement, with rich indexing enabling users to find images by designer and brand names.
- Women's Magazine ArchiveAn archival research resource comprising the full backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines.
Tabloids and Gossip - Oh, my!
- National enquirerHoldings from 1965 to September 2018
- StarHoldings from 1977-August 2018
- GlobeHoldings from 1981-August 2018
- Rona Barrett's gossipHoldings from 1973-September 1980
- ConfidentialHoldings from 1953-August 1973
NOTE: many of these are in fragile condition - please be careful if you look at this title - Hush-Hush: what you don't know about people you knowHoldings from July 1955-undetermined
NOTE: this title is at the offsite storage facility - if you look at this title, please allow for time to transport it here
Biographical Databases
- Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary full-text database that includes scholarly journal articles on all subjects as well as magazines, books and book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, and more.
- Biography Reference BankBiographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present, plus thousands of images.
- The Complete Marquis Who's Who BiographiesFull-text biographies from 20 Marquis Who's Who publications, including Who's Who in America, Who Was Who in America, and Who's Who in the World.
- Oxford Art OnlineOxford Art Online includes the peer-reviewed, regularly updated Grove Art Online, The Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, providing access to thousands of articles spanning ancient to contemporary art and architecture, as well as images of works of art, structures, plans, and artist signatures.
Access limited to 3 users at a time. - Oxford Music OnlineProvides access to Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music, with thousands of scholarly articles charting the diverse history and cultures of music around the globe.
Librarian
Stefanie Hunker
she/her/hers
Contact:
Rm. 404 Jerome Library
Browne Popular Culture Library
University Libraries
Bowling Green State University
Bowling Green, OH 43403
Browne Popular Culture Library
University Libraries
Bowling Green State University
Bowling Green, OH 43403
419-372-7893
Website