Peer Reviewed or Scholarly FAQ
What are scholarly or peer reviewed articles?
Professors often require students to find scholarly and peer reviewed articles. These items:
- generally focus on scholarly research
- are written by experts in the field or discipline
- are critically reviewed by other experts before publication
- contain cited references to the information sources used
How do I find scholarly or peer reviewed articles?
Many of the library's databases contain scholarly or peer reviewed material and allow you to limit your search to include only these articles in the results. Use the advanced search feature in a database to find the option to limit to this type of search.
Click here for more information on scholarly, popular and trade publications.
Finding Articles
Articles in periodicals (journals, magazines, etc.) are not listed individually in our online catalog. To find periodical literature, you should start with a periodical index or a full-text periodical database. Once you find a citation for an article in the index, do a title search in the online catalog for the journal title (not for the article title), then go to the appropriate journal volume (or request it from Remote Storage), and find the individual article.
Music-Specific Indexes
- Music Index
Call Number: Music Indexes ML118.M84
The Music Index Online contains citations from more than 640 international music journals including history, theory, performance, ethnomusicology, education, and popular music. It also includes citations for dissertations, reviews, and obituaries.
Coverage: 1973 to present - RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Call Number: Music Indexes ML1.I83
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature is an international bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines. RILM provides a broad, international coverage and concise abstracts. All scholarly works are indexed (articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, Festschriften, films and videos, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, reviews, etc.). Concert reviews, recording notes, pedagogical manuals, etc. are indexed if they are of scholarly interest.
Coverage: 1967 to present - RIPM
Call Number: Music Indexes ML128.P24
RIPM provides an index to periodicals from 1800-1950. This source is particularly helpful if you are looking for primary source material from the eighteenth, nineteenth, and early twentieth centuries, such as reviews of concerts or contemporaneous opinion. Print only.
Coverage: c. 1850-1950 - Rock's Back Pages
Rock's Back Pages contains indexes to articles from the popular music press. BGSU does not subscribe, so our users have access to the index, but not to the full text of the articles.
Coverage: c. 1970 to present - Ro-Ja-Ro Index
The RoJaRo (Rock, Jazz, Roots, etc.) Index is a free "searchable key to articles, discographies, live-/ record-reviews etc published in the music press worldwide including fanzines...." Currently, users may only search by artist or group names. This is an index only, but articles you find here are likely to be available in print at the ML/SRA.
Coverage: 1992 to present
Susannah Cleveland |
Susannah ClevelandDescription
Loading content... please wait












Loading content... please wait