Awards
- Book Award Directory
- Caldecott Connections
- Caldecott Medal & Honor BooksThis award is for most distinguished American picture book for children.
- Children's Book Guild Nonfiction Award
- Children's Choice Book Award
- Coretta Scott King Award
- Coretta Scott King Award Curriculum Resource Center
- Dolly Gray Award for Children's Literature in Developmental Disabilities
- E. B. White Read Aloud Awards
- Golden Kite Award
- NCTE Orbis Pictus AwardThis award is for outstanding nonfiction of children named for what is said to be the first children's book (published in 1657).
- Newbery Medal and Honor Books
- Outstanding International Books for Children
- Pura Belpré AwardThis award is given annually to a 'Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth."
- Roald Dahl Funny Prize
- Schneider Family Book AwardSchneider Awards "honor an author or illustrator for the artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audience."
- Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction
- Theodor Seuss Geisel Award
Finding Children's Literature in the CRC
Catalog searches as well as reference books can be used to locate topic and age-appropriate books for your students.
For catalog searches, try a keyword search with the subject of your choice. Under location, choose Curriculum Resource Center.
Below are a number of reference books which can be used to find books for your middle readers. For more bibliographies, in the catalog search
Subject: Children's literature -- bibliography
Finding Picture Books
Keyword: type your subject, author or title here
Location: Curriculum Resource Center
Submit
Choose a title from the result list connect to the record. Look for the physical description. How many pages does your book have? Does it have color illustrations (col.ill.)? What is the size of the book. From this description you can determine if the title is a picture book.
Physical Description: 1 v. (unpaged) : col. ill. ; 26 cm This is a picture book!
Physical Description: 217 p. ; 22 cm This is NOT a picture book!
Physical Description: 48 p. : col. ill. ; 24 cm This is a picture book!
Physical Description: 195 p. ; 21 cm This is NOT a picture book!
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
Do you need a children's book that covers a certain topic at a particular grade level? Do you need quality book reviews of children's literature at all levels? Are you interested in award winning books, or those that make the "best of" lists? Use the Children's Literature Comprehensive Database to find what you need.
- Children's Literature Comprehensive Database LinkThis database features a button that allows the user to check the BGSU catalog for availability.
Picture Books for the Middle Grades
Yes, older readers can still enjoy picture books! Below are just a few examples from the many titles available for checkout.
Look for picture books that cover more complex topics, historical events, have larger blocks of text, or more sophisticated vocabulary.
Contoversy in Children's Literature
Click here for a list of books challenged and banned 2008-2009.




Loading...
