Bowling GreenOhio
Canadian Government InfoInternational GovernmentUnited Nations
Known Item SearchingSubject SearchingAgency SearchingStatistical StrategiesSpecial Technique Search Strategies
This is the "Home" page of the "Government Information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Oct 9, 2014 URL: http://libguides.bgsu.edu/GovernmentDocuments Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search Government Documents in Summon

Use this box to search for government documents.

The Summon database searches the BGSU Libraries Catalog, many resources that are also available in other databases, and some Internet resources. 

Starting Points

  • BGSU Library Catalog
    The catalog is great place to start searching for print and electronic government documents. You can narrow your search to just government documents using the "Location" field.
  • FDSys (Federal Digital System)
    FDSys provided access to a wide variety of databases that contain full text U.S. government documents. When it's complete, it will replace GPO Access.
  • USA.gov: U.S. Government Information by Topic
    A directory of U.S. government information, arranged by topic.
  • ProQuest Congressional, 1789 - present
    Information by and about the United States Congress, including Congressional Record and precursors 1789 - present, House and Senate documents and reports 1789 - present, and Congressional hearings 1980-2003.
  • Statistical Abstract of the United States
    The Statistical Abstract of the U.S. is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
  • American FactFinder
    American FactFinder is your source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data. It is the U.S. Census Bureau's main vehicle for distributing U.S. census data, including data from the 2000 Census, economic censuses and surveys, and annual population estimates.
 

BGSU Government Document Depository Information

BGSU Libraries collects federal, state, local, and Canadian documents. See the descriptions of our collections below.

   Federal Documents Collection

Bowling Green State University became a federal depository in 1933. We select 35% of the offered items. Our collection of online and tangible publications is rich in historical and current material. We hold the: 

  •  Census of Population reports from 1790 to present
  •  Foreign Relations of the United States
  •  U.S. Treaties and International Agreements
  •  U.S. Congressional Serial Set and many other important historical primary research sets

Ohio Documents Collection

The department became an Ohio depository in 1953 and receives all agency publications distributed through the state depository program. Our state collection numbers about 20,000. The collection includes agency publications such as reports, directories, pamphlets, leaflets, posters, newsletters, and journals; the Judicial Branch materials including administrative opinions and state Supreme Court opinions and decisions; and Ohio General Assembly materials including the Laws of Ohio, and the House and Senate Journals.

 

Bowling Green City Documents

We began collecting selected material from the City of Bowling Green in the early 1980's. The collection includes City Council Minutes, Mayors Reports, the Bowling Green City Code of Ordinances, and the Annual report of the Bowling Green Police Division. This collection is located in the main documents stack area behind the Ohio Collection and all call numbers begin with BG.

    Canadian Documents Collection

BGSU became a Canadian Government Documents Depository in October, 1999. The Canadian Depository system ceased to exist at the end of 2013. Our collection focuses on business, environment, Great Lakes, Native Peoples, and social issues. It includes journals, reports, and cd-roms. We also collect some of the important statistical reports produced by Statistics Canada. The collection is arranged by Canadian Documents Classification Number and is shelved in the main documents stack area along the back wall of the collection.

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip