About the Library
The Library is located next to the art building. We have books, journals, DVDs, and special collections as well as online databases.
Books
Many art and architecture books are located on the first floor of the library in the N's; photography can be found on the 8th floor in the T's. Don't forget the oversized books! Also on the first floor, these contain many of the best images.
To check out books, use your BGSU ID.
Journals
The library has print journals from 1997 to the present. Older volumes can be requested from the Depository. Print journals are on the first floor in alphabetical order by title. In addition, there are magazines and fanzines like Art Freak and Flygirl in the Music Library and Popular Culture Library.
Print journals cannot usually be checked out, but the library has scanners and color copiers on the first floor.
DVDs and videos
DVDs and videos are on the first floor by the oversized books, in the Popular Culture Library, and online.
Students can check out first-floor DVDs and videos for one week and DVDs from the Popular Culture Library for 3 days.
Special Collections
The Browne Popular Culture Library, on the 4th floor, has a wealth of visual materials, including comic books, graphic novels, posters and postcards.
The Music Library & Bill Schurk Sound Archives, on the 3rd floor, is good for finding not only music books and records but also album covers, posters, and life-sized cardboard standups.
The Curriculum Resource Center, on the 2nd floor, has resources for teachers but also puppets, picture files, illustrated children's books, pop-up books, and the Ellison Machine, which will punch out an amazing variety of shapes from paper or cloth.
Special materials in the PCL and Music Library cannot be checked out, but they can usually be copied or scanned.
Essential Art Databases
- Art Full Text & Art Index Retrospective1929-present. Includes articles from international art journals, magazines, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Some full text.
- JSTOR1603-three years ago. A wonderful source for full-text scholarly articles in history and art history. Includes 19th century art journals and museum publications. Full text.
- Oxford Art OnlineOnline encyclopedia great for finding information about individual artists and movements. Includes the important and comprehensive Grove Dictionary of Art. Full text. Access limited to 3 users at a time.
- ARTstor
Over one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and teaching.
All users must register for a personal Artstor account in order to download images. Use the "register" link at the upper right after accessing the database. Licensed for BGSU Main Campus Users only. Note: Artstor is integrating with JSTOR: Access to Artstor will end August 1st, 2024. Visit the JSTOR images page.
- WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch)Use WorldCat to find and request books in libraries all over the United States, Europe and Asia. Perfect for finding exhibition catalogs that may only be owned by a few libraries.
