Reference Works
Reference works do a great job of contextualizing and summarizing people, places and events - making it easy to complete this background research! You can cite these authoritative library sources in your bibliography.
A Companion to the Archaeology of the Ancient near East by Call Number: onlineISBN: 9781405189880A two-volume comprehensive and authoritative overview of ancient material culture from the late Pleistocene to Late Antiquity. Use the search feature at the upper right of the screen! A good source for Sargon and Ur-Nammu.
- Oxford Art OnlineA comprehensive reference source for art and art history. This resource will contextualize your ruler in an art historical context, linking him or her directly to the objects and archaeological sites associated with him or her. Access limited to 3 users at a time.
- OhioLINK Electronic Book Center (EBC)Contains full-text scholarly and reference books purchased by Ohio academic libraries.
ARTstor
Head of a woman with gold jewelry, Sumero-Akkadian, c. 2500 BCE
If you search ARTstor for a keyword (like the name of an Ancient Near Eastern ruler), you will find object associated with it. Use the icons beneath the objects for additional views (and additional information) or to see other images commonly grouped by ARTstor users with the ones you found. You must create a free personal account in ARTstor to download images.
Click on the image title for full information about the object, including its repository, or owning museum. Sometimes the museum's website will contain additional information.
Articles & Databases
JSTOR is definitely the database where you will find the most results for searches about the history and objects of the Ancient Near East. This is because it has numerous art history and museum publications as well as numerous archaeological journals. Make searches in JSTOR as specific as possible, or limit searches to a particular discipline.
The library has over 70 databases in EBSCO, including subject-specific databases like Art Full Text. Use the EBSCO search tab on the library's home page or go to "Choose Databases" in EBSCO to search them all at once.