Primary Legislative Databases - Federal
Library Research Databases: Subscription and freely available - CQ Weekly
CQ Weekly Searchable is a full text weekly magazine about the activities of the United States Congress. It's the online version of Congressional Quarterly Weekly Report. 1983 to present. - GPO Access

A service of the U.S. Government Printing Office that provides free electronic access to over 70 U.S. government databases. - Lexis-Nexis Congressional
Provides access to Congressional publications, CIS Legislative Histories for public laws, testimony from congressional hearings, bills as they move through the House and Senate, the Congressional Record, Federal Register, member & committee information. - THOMAS
Legislative information from the Library of Congress. Includes the text, summary, & status of Congressional bills & resolutions; activity in Congress; Congressional Record; schedules & calendars; Committee information; treaties.
Legislative Databases - Ohio
- Ohio Capitol Connection
Covers actions & activities of the Ohio legislature & state government, including texts of bills, amendments & analyses; opinions & decisions; proposed rules & policies; meeting agendas & results of state depts. & agencies. Bill status updated daily.
Additional Research Databases
- American State Papers
The American State Papers are comprised of important executive and legislative documents published from 1789 to 1838. They are not a complete record of the activities of that time period, but selected important documents and papers. - Annals of Congress
Predecessor to the Congressional Record. Covers 1789 - 1824. - Congressional Globe
Predecessor to the Congressional Record. Covers 1833-1873. - House Journal
A record of the proceedings of each legislative day in the House. - Register of Debates
Predessor to the Congressional Record. Covers 1824-1837. - Global Legal Information Network
This searchable database contains Laws, Judicial Decisions, Legislative Records, and Legal Literature for jurisdictions spanning the globe. - Senate Journal
The minutes of the actions on the Senate floor. - Weekly Compiliation of Presidential Documents
Searchable database of Presidential Documents including statements, messages and other Presidential materials, 1993 to present. - Public Papers of the President
Searchable database of the public papers of the President, beginning with 1992. - Congressional Record (GPO Access)
The official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. - Statutes at Large (Lexis-Nexis Congressional)
A searchable database from 1789 to present as part of Lexis-Nexis Congressional Universe. The Statutes, sometimes called session laws, are the permanent collection of all laws & resolutions (public and private) enacted during each session of Congress. - Statutes at Large (Library of Congress)
Laws and resolutions passed by Congress during the first forty-three Congresses, 1789-1875.
Contact Info
Jerome Library Reference & Information Desk
Phone: 419-372-6943
E-mail: libhelp@bgsu.edu
Created by Linda Rich
Meebo
Use IM to chat with staff at the Research & Information Desk. For information about how to visit us, phone us, or email us, visit the Ask Us! page.
Description
Loading content... please wait










Loading content... please wait