Finding Floor Proceedings
The Congressional Record contains official proceedings and debates of the United States Congress, published from 1874 (43rd Congress) to present. Locations and links to the text of the various years of coverage follow.
- Congressional Record -- Daily (Govinfo.gov)Daily record 1994-present. Includes the "Daily Digest" which summarizes each day's floor and committee activities.
- Congressional Record -- 1973 to present (Congress.gov)The Congressional Record (101st Congress to present) can be browsed or searched one congress at a time.
- Congressional Record -- Bound Edition (Govinfo.gov)The Congressional Record (from 1873) can be browsed by date or searched as a collection.
- Congressional GlobePredecessor to the Congressional Record. Covers 1833-1873. Contains summaries until the 32nd Congress (1851-1853) when the text became almost a transcript. (In Jerome Library, Print & Microfilm, X72-X179)
- Register of DebatesPredecessor to the Congressional Record. Provides summaries of Congressional proceedings, 1824-1837. (In Jerome Library, X43-X71)
- Annals of CongressPredecessor to the Congressional Record. Covers 1789 - 1824, 1st - 18th Congress. Paraphrased proceedings of Congress. (In Jerome Library, print & microcard, X1-X42)
- House Journal (Govinfo.gov)A record of the proceedings of each legislative day in the House of Representatives
- Senate JournalThe minutes of the actions on the Senate floor.
Key Legislative Databases
See Databases tab above for descriptions and additional databases.
- ProQuest Congressional PublicationsSearch across current and historical documents of the United States Congress.