This is the "General tips" page of the "Printing, Scanning & Alternatives" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Printing, Scanning & Alternatives   Tags: ebsco, ejc, exporting_documents, firstsearch, jstor, myfiles, osearch, printing, proquest, wilson  

Learn about printing and scanning at Jerome Library. This guide also explains how to export or save citations and articles so you can easily return to them on-screen instead of printing them.
Last Updated: Oct 17, 2013 URL: http://libguides.bgsu.edu/printing Print Guide RSS Updates

General tips Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Printing at Jerome Library

Print Responsibly Logo

Printing costs (see guest printing costs further down)

  • $0.05 for a one-sided black-and-white page
  • $0.09 for a two-sided black-and-white page
  • $0.18 for a one-sided color page
  • $0.35 for a two-sided color page

Printing costs will be deducted from your BG1 card or your printing allocation.

To add money to your BG1 card, use the black machine across from the circulation desk (takes cash and credit cards) or online through MyBGSU. See the BG1 website for more information about deposit options.

Directions for student printing in the Jerome Library reference area:

For black & white printouts:

  • The default printer for black & white will be ITS-LABS-MAIN 4510
  • Go to any printer in the main computing area
  • Release your print job by swiping your ID OR entering your BG username and password at the computer next to the printer

For color printouts:

  • There are TWO color printers: LIBRARY COLOR 7346LP1 (located near the ITS desk), and LIBRARY COLOR 7428LP1 (located near the pillar by Outtakes). Select the printer to which you would like to send your document.
  • Click Print
  • Go to the selected printer and log in by swiping your card or using your BGSU username and password to release your document.

Students may also print in black & white from the Mac computers scattered around the lobby. 

Printing as a guest user:

Printing costs for guests:

  •    .10 per side for black and white
  •    .25 per side for color

Guests (without BG usernames and passwords) must buy a guest copy card and add money to it. This can be done at the black machine across from the circulation desk. Guest copy cards cost $2.00, which does not include any money for printing. Extra money must be loaded onto the copy card. 

Guest printing can be done ONLY from the iMac computers, which are scattered around the lobby area. No login is required to use these Apple computers. To print from these machines, simply click "Print"  or "command + P" and select the Guest option- either black & white or color. You will then be prompted to type in the number on the back of your guest copy card. The only color printer for guests is the one nearest Outtakes called Library 7428 GUEST Color. These computers do not default to guest printing, so make sure to select the guest option.

If you have any questions or need any help with the printing process, please ask one of the friendly folks at the ITS Desk.

Please direct any questions about printing costs or allocations to Campus ITS.

 

General Tips

Instead of printing, try...

  1. Saving articles online
    When you save links to citations and articles online it is easy to go back to them from any computer with an internet connection. 
    1. Save them to a social bookmarking site
      If you have an account on delicious.com, CiteULike, or even Facebook, you can use buttons to quick-link citations and articles to those sites (EBSCO and the EJC both offer this). If there is no quick-link, look for the "persistent url" to the citation or article you want to save, and upload that url to your online account.
      Advantages
      : all of your articles are saved in one online account
      Disadvantages
      : not all databases have quick-link buttons; sometimes it is hard to find the persistent url for a record; the persistent url may not be formatted for off-campus access

    2. Save them to a RefWorks account
      RefWorks
      was designed to automatically format notes and bibliographies, but can also serve as a general repository for your research.
      Advantages: all of your articles are saved in one online account; most databases have a direct export to RefWorks; the Find It! button makes it easy to link from RefWorks to full text; it is easy to organize citations into different folders for different assignments; RefWorks is available to alumni so you will still have access to your citations after you graduate (though not to full text) 
      Disadvantages
      : uploading articles from databases without a direct export can be confusing; you need to be on campus to create a RefWorks account

    3. Save them to a personal account in a library database
      Many databases allow you to create a personal account to set search preferences (like language or other interface options) and save searches and articles. MyEBSCOhost and MyEJC are two examples. 
      Advantages
      : ability to set preferences, ability to view your search history as well as saved items 
      Disadvantages
      : need to remember a number of different logins and passwords; will not be able to access after graduation

  2. Saving articles to a personal drive
    The "export" option in most databases will allow you download and save citations and full text. 
    1. Download them to a thumb drive
      Advantages: virtually unlimited storage; your files will be available even if the database you used is not 
      Disadvantages
      : thumb drives can be misplaced or forgotten

    2. Upload them to myfiles.bgsu.edu
      MyFiles offers 1 GB of online storage to every BGSU student, faculty and staff member. Access it by visiting http://myfiles.bgsu.edu and logging in with your BGSU username and password. 
      Advantages
      : available from any computer with an internet connection; all items stored in one place; files will be available even if the database you used is not
      Disadvantages
      : necessary to download articles and lists of citations as pdf, html or txt files before uploading them to myfiles; not as easy to organize into different folders

  3. E mailing articles to yourself
    Most databases also offer a direct e mail option alongside other export options for either citations or full text, allowing you to print or save files later.
 

Scanning at the Library

Did you know you can send PDF scans of materials to your e-mail for free at the library?

The copy machines located near the pillar by Thinkers @ Outtakes and by the ITS desk can be used as scanners.  You do not need to log in or have money on your BG1 card to scan.

Directions for scanning are located near the machines. If you need help, just ask the friendly folks at the ITS Desk. 

Also, the newly-opened Student Technology Assistance Center (STAC) has high-quality flatbed scanners for student use. STAC is located in room 122 on the first floor of Jerome Library. 

 

Print What You Like

PrintWhatYouLike.com Logo

Can't live without printing altogether?

PrintWhatYouLike.com is a free online editor that lets you select and print only the parts of a web page you want to print, so you can eliminate large pictures, banners, ads, comments, etc., and save paper.

 

Off-campus links

When you save links in Facebook, e mail, delicious.com, or wherever you like to find them later, they have to be both persistent and proxied in order to take you back to the same page again from on or off campus.

Not all persistent urls are proxied urls. Proxying a url prompts off-campus users for a login.

Persistent url from JSTOR
     (will only work from on campus):
     http://www.jstor.org/stable/3556958

Proxied persistent url from JSTOR
     (will work from on or off campus):
     http://0-www.jstor.org.maurice.bgsu.edu/
     stable/3556958

Many of our databases automatically format persistent urls as proxied, but, if not, you can set them up yourself.

- Before the domain, add 0-
- After it, add .maurice.bgsu.edu
- Leave the rest of the url as is

Now the url should prompt you for your BGSU login if you are off campus.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip