This page includes a variety of "How to Use Guides" created by librarians at BGSU and tutorials created by various database vendors.
Last Updated: Jan 13, 2014
- Academic Search Complete (EBSC0): Using Find It! to locate the full text of an article
Created in-house using JING. Overview of using Find It! to locate the full text of an article.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO): Finding Academic Journals
How to narrow search results in Academic Search Complete to only articles that appear in academic journals.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO): Finding Full Text
Four 3-minute YouTube videos on different aspects of using ARTstor.
- CSA Databases (general)
Includes: Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts, Physical Education Index
View this training video (11:32), or take a quick tour
- EBSCO Databases (general)
Includes: Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, CINAHL, Communication & Mass Media Complete, Econlit, Education Research Complete, ERIC, Film & Television Literature Index FT, Health Source, Humanities International Complete, International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance, LGBT Life, Medline with Full Text, MLA, Newspaper Source, RILM Abstracts of Music Literature, SPORTDiscus and more
Scroll down to Dow Jones Factiva and pick from the numbered (1-7) modules and self-tests.
- FirstSearch Databases (general)
Includes: Anthropology Plus, ArticleFirst, Avery Index, ClasePeriodica, GPO Monthly Catalog, History of Science, Technology, & Medicine, PapersFirst, ProceedingsFirst, WorldCat, and more
Video tutorials. Click How-to-use-JSTOR Training Materials for printable PDF overviews.
- LexisNexis Academic
- LexisNexis (Persistent URLs)
How to generate persistent URLs for articles in LexisNexis.
- Literary Reference Center (EBSCO)
- Mediamark (MRI)
- Mediamark Reporter (Accessing)
- MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO)
Overview; PowerPoint file
- Mintel Market Research Database
Several 3-minute videos on different aspects of using NetLibrary.
- Oxford Art Online
Guided tour, in PowerPoint.
- Project MUSE
Training and usage guides.
- ProQuest Databases (general)
Includes: Dissertation Abstracts, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, New York Times Historical
Learn how to share your RefWorks citations in a collaborative online environment.
- RefWorks Basics
- RefWorks LibGuide
This is a comprehensive guide created by librarians at BGSU that explains everything users need to know about how to use this bibliographic management tool.
- Safari Books Online
Created with JING
- Standard Rate and Data Service (SDRS)
- University Libraries Site Search
Short video shows how to use site search from University Libraries homepage for diverse kinds of information.
- Web of Science (ISI citation indexes & more)
Includes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Biosis Citation Index, BIOSIS Previews, Derwent Innovations Index