HIST 4780: The Atlantic World, 1500-1800: Internet Sites

"Search the digital collections of libraries, archives and museums from across Canada."
NOTE: In November 1918, the site claimed to include more than 60 million pages of digitized resources.

Gallica is a search engine for a French digital library. It includes many volumes about New France, although many were written in French.

This site links to a wide variety of resources, some of which are about New France.

An account book about goods imported, including slaves.

Jesuit Priest Sebastien Rasles had a mission with the Abenaki Indians and, along with at least 100 Indians, was killed by a force of English militia and Indians.

A database with information from New London County Connecticut court records 1691-1855 that mention African Americans.
NOTE: This doesn't include the original text of the court records, but only information taken from the court records.

This is a database with information from New London County Connecticut court records 1691-1855 that include any mention of Native Americans.
NOTE: This database does not include the text of the original court records, but only information taken from those records.

London agent of the Massachusetts Bay Colony

"The Virginia Museum of History & Culture launched Unknown No Longer in 2011 to make accessible biographical details of enslaved Virginians from unpublished historical records in its collections. At the beginning of 2019, the unique content of Unknown No Longer was moved to be hosted on the Virginia Untold portal operated by the Library of Virginia, providing users with access to an expanded collection of resources for researching African American history in Virginia."

Part of the Thomas Jefferson Papers

"The Library of Virginia's African American Narrative project aims to provide great accessibility to pre-1865 African American history and genealogy found in the rich primary sources in its holdings."

A database of ads from 18th & 19th century Virginia newspapers for runaway and captured enslaved people

A Muslim merchant describes his capture and enslavement.

An account of a slave revolt upon a ship.

A description of the slave trade by a slave trader.

Request for a certain number of slave children for sale.

"The Virginia Museum of History & Culture launched Unknown No Longer in 2011 to make accessible biographical details of enslaved Virginians from unpublished historical records in its collections. At the beginning of 2019, the unique content of Unknown No Longer was moved to be hosted on the Virginia Untold portal operated by the Library of Virginia, providing users with access to an expanded collection of resources for researching African American history in Virginia."

"The Library of Virginia's African American Narrative project aims to provide great accessibility to pre-1865 African American history and genealogy found in the rich primary sources in its holdings."

The cultural collections of Europe -- many museums, libraries, and other cultural institutions contribute to Europeana.

You must register to see the depositions, but registration is free.

There's a guide to using this collection at http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/help-with-your-research/research-guides/america-west-indies-calendar-state-papers-colonial-1573-1739/

These letters were published in Latin or German and are not available at this site in English.

Although the focus of this collection is western Pennsylvania, it contains volumes on Massachusetts, Virginia, and the slave trade.

Correspondence and writings of six major shapers of the United States

Includes maps

"This collection provides insight into the lives of ordinary people from New England and the Mid-Atlantic from the colonial period into the 20th century through property deeds, judicial records and other legal documents, financial records, correspondence, and more. Originals held by the Law Library."