This is the "Home" page of the "ARTH 3170: Ancient Near Eastern Art" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ARTH 3170: Ancient Near Eastern Art  

Last Updated: Jul 28, 2014 URL: http://libguides.bgsu.edu/arth3170 Print Guide
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference Works

Reference works do a great job of contextualizing and summarizing people, places and events - making it easy to complete this background research! You can cite these authoritative library sources in your bibliography.

Cover Art
A Companion to the Archaeology of the Ancient near East - D. T. Potts (Editor)
Call Number: online
ISBN: 9781405189880
A two-volume comprehensive and authoritative overview of ancient material culture from the late Pleistocene to Late Antiquity. Use the search feature at the upper right of the screen! A good source for Sargon and Ur-Nammu.

Cover Art
Ancient Mesopotamia - McIntosh & Weeks (Editor)
Call Number: online
Captures the entire sweep of Mesopotamia's four major ancient cultures (Sumerian, Akkadian, Assyrian, Babylonian) in one concise volume. Includes information about these cultures' economies, social orders, political systems, religions, intellectual accomplishments, and material culture.

Oxford Art Online
Call Number: online
A comprehensive reference source for art and art history. This resource will contextualize your ruler in an art historical context, linking him or her directly to the objects and archaeological sites associated with him or her. Access limited to 3 users at a time.

Wiley Online Library
Call Number: online
Search within the full text of reference books and journal articles. You will only be able to view full text if there is an open lock icon next to the result, but you can request other things you find through OhioLINK or ILLiad.

OhioLINK Electronic Book Center (EBC)
Most of our online reference works can be searched in the EBC.

 

ARTstor

Head of a Woman with Gold Jewelry

Head of a woman with gold jewelry, Sumero-Akkadian, c. 2500 BCE

ARTstor logo

If you search ARTstor for the name of your ruler, you will find object associated with him or her. Use the icons beneath the objects for additional views (and additional information) or to see other images commonly grouped by ARTstor users with the ones you found. You must create a free personal account in ARTstor to download images.

Click on the image title for full information about the object, including its repository, or owning museum. Sometimes the museum's website will contain additional information.

Your turn!

Use ARTstor to find an image associated with your ruler.

Find and copy the permanent url for the image in ARTstor.

Use the submit link below to send it to me. Include:

  1. Your name
  2. Your email address
  3. Link title: type in the image title
  4. URL: copy and paste the permanent link to the image
  5. Description: include these elements
  • your ruler's name
  • the repository where this object can be found
  • whether there are other images associated with this one in ARTstor

 

Articles & Databases

JSTOR logoJSTOR is definitely the database where you will find the most results for searches about the history and objects of the Ancient Near East. This is because it has numerous art history and museum publications as well as numerous archaeological journals. Make searches in JSTOR as specific as possible, or limit searches to a particular discipline.

EBSCO logoYou've probably used Academic Search Complete, but the library has over 70 databases in EBSCO, including subject-specific databases like Art Full Text, Anthropology Plus, and ATLA (which is a religion database). These databases search journals that are NOT necessarily included in Academic Search Complete! Go to "Choose Databases" in EBSCO to search them all at once.

Your turn!

Use JSTOR to find an article about the object you found in ARTstor.

Find and copy the permanent url for the article.

Use the submit link below to send it to me. Include:

  1. Your name
  2. Your email address
  3. Link title: type in the article name
  4. URL: copy and paste the permanent link to the image
  5. Description: include these elements
  • your ruler's name
  • the object you were searching for
  • a book title for which a book review also came up in your search results

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip