Links to Liaison Pages for Other Academic Libraries
This liaison program helps faculty members with all of their library needs.
- The University of Akron: http://www.uakron.edu/law/library/facultyservices/facultyliaison.dot
"Library liaisons and Department representatives work together in order to identify and maintain resources that enhance our academic collections and support the curricular and research needs of the University community."
- The University of Toledo: http://libguides.utoledo.edu/subjectliaisons?hs=a
"Subject Librarians meet individually with students to assist with research, offer classes on finding and using library materials, create customized course guides, and welcome suggestions for additions to the collections."
- Brown University: http://library.brown.edu/about/specialists.php
This gives a very detailed description of the duties of departmental liaisons, who interact with librarians. Also, duties for the librarians are listed including collection development and communicating with faculty.
- Eastern Michigan University:http://www.emich.edu/library/about/liaison.php
Librarian Subject Specialists at EMU: http://www.emich.edu/library/about/directory/specialist.php
The broad categories liaisons are responsible for are communication, collection development, user services, and program evaluation and development.
- University of Connecticut Liaison Program: http://www.lib.uconn.edu/services/liaison/prog00.htm
"A subject librarian is your personal guide to the Libraries. We are responsible for purchasing library materials, providing reference help and consultations, and instructing UW students in the research tools and methods of each discipline"
- University of Washington: http://guides.lib.washington.edu/subject-librarians
Literature Review on Library Liaisons
Ferree, N., Schaefer, N., Butson, L. C., & Tennant, M. R. (2009). Liaison librarian tiers: levels of service. Journal Of The Medical Library Association, 97(2), 145-148.
The University of Florida's Health Science Center Libraries (HSCL) serve more than 12,000 faculty, students, staff, and administrators distributed among 6 colleges (dentistry, medicine, nursing, pharmacy, public health and health professions, and veterinary medicine) as well as associated centers and institutes (i.e., the Institute on Aging and the University of Florida Shands Cancer Center). Clients from other campus colleges such as liberal arts and sciences and agricultural and life sciences are patrons as well.
The original library liaison program began at the Gainesville campus in the spring of 1999 as an outcome of strategic planning. Developed by a work group appointed in January 1998, this program was based on fifty-two potential liaison activities in seven focal areas and aimed to increase communication with clients and to customize services [I]. To increase their effectiveness, liaison librarians would focus on the subject matter of a limited number of disciplines, and clients would have one contact person with whom they could form a more personalized relationship . Liaison librarians volunteered for, or were assigned to, specific colleges or departments based on their knowledge, skills, and interests. Each served as a "personal" librarian to local and distance education clients with activities tied to the seven focal areas. Individual librarians were assigned to the smaller University of Florida Health Science Center (HSC) Colleges of Nursing, Dentistry, Pharmacy, and Veterinary Medicine. The other librarians served departments in the two larger or more diverse colleges: medicine and public health and health professions. Ongoing program evaluations to address issues and challenges were planned.
Purpose – The purpose of this study is to compare and contrast four academic liaison programs. Design/methodology/approach – Areas addressed include liaison subject specialization, communication methods, duties, and program evaluation. Findings – This paper found similarities in areas of orientation meetings, library guides, and information literacy classes. Unique concepts among the four libraries studied include physical classroom embedment, use of specialized class web pages, faculty literacy classes, and concentrated faculty information literacy assistance. Originality/value – The results presented provide insight into current academic library liaison practices and the faculty-liaison relationship.
SUNY New Paltz established a library liaison program in 2001, long after such programs were commonplace at many U.S. college and university libraries. The program emerged, not simply from a desire to enhance library service, but because library faculty came to view it as a multi-faceted mechanism capable of addressing multiple concerns. The new library-wide initiative demanded high-level communication skills, an in-depth understanding of library policies and collection development practices, and increased knowledge about individual departments and the college. A collection of campus information resources and liaison training sessions, collectively called The Library Liaison Toolkit, was developed to build liaison expertise in these areas.
This paper examines approaches to reference, collection development, and information literacy taken by a new subject specialist librarian at a large research university. It presents case studies for using various qualitative surveys and quantitative methods, including a collection development survey and information literacy post-assessments. Strategies are presented for tackling the challenges faced by a subject specialist librarian in an unfamiliar field. These efforts led to new services and liaison relationships with user constituencies. Specific services and approaches used are detailed including collection development decisions, information literacy program planning, and outreach programming. Finally, this paper proposes further research and recommends professional development resources. Reprinted by permission of the publisher.
Rodwell, J., , & Fairbairn, L. (2008). Dangerous liaisons? Library Management, 29(1-2), 116-124. doi:10.1108/01435120810844694.
Building on the experiences of librarian representatives to curriculum committees in the colleges of dentistry, medicine, and nursing, the Health Science Center Libraries (HSCL) Strategic Plan recommended the formation of a Library Liaison Work Group to create a formal Library Liaison Program to serve the six Health Science Center (HSC) colleges and several affiliated centers and institutes. The work group's charge was to define the purpose and scope of the program, identify models of best practice, and recommend activities for liaisons. The work group gathered background information, performed an environmental scan, and developed a philosophy statement, a program of liaison activities focusing on seven |primary areas, and a forum for liaison communication. Hallmarks of the plan included intensive subject specialization (beyond collection development), extensive communication with users, and personal information services. Specialization was expected to promote competence, communication, confidence, comfort, and customization. Development of the program required close coordination with other strategic plan implementation teams, including teams for collection development, education, and marketing. This paper discusses the HSCL's planning process and the resulting Library Liaison Program. Although focusing on an academic health center, the planning process and liaison model may be applied to any library serving diverse, subject-specific user populations.
Purpose – The purpose of this paper is to provide an updated definition of academic liaison work and examine methods for developing effective liaison relationships. Design/methodology/approach – The authors reviewed and incorporated recently published (1989-2009) material relating to academic liaison work. In addition to published material the authors conducted a survey of faculty in their liaison areas during the fall 2008 semester in order to access their knowledge and satisfaction with liaison services. Findings – The paper finds that liaison work is multifaceted and success is based both on administrative support and the individual liaisons efforts. Originality/value – The originality of this work includes the definition of liaison work and requirements of academic liaisons in today's libraries. The paper is of value to current academic liaisons and librarians just entering the field of academia. The paper incorporates recent research, an author conducted survey and the authors' nearly two decades of combined liaison experience and may serve as an overview of the expectations and potential benefits of academic liaison work.
Whatley, K. M. (2009). New Roles of Liaison Librarians: A Liaison's Perspective. Research Library Issues, (265), 29-32.
At New York University we have spent a significant amount of time in the past academic year thinking about science library services, and a large part of that work has included reexamining our roles as liaison librarians and how we might evolve to better serve the changing needs of our students and researchers. In the process I have formed a new appreciation of the concept of librarians as middleware, as well as roles we leave behind as we offer new services and acquire new skills.