LibGuides: ARTH 3190: Egyptian Art: Finding articles

Finding journal articles

Use library databases like JSTOR and Art Full Text to find articles about aspects of Ancient Egypt and its art production.

JSTOR
Over a thousand full-text scholarly journals and books covering all subjects in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. History, economics, art, literature, and mathematics are particularly strong. All journal titles are archived back to the first issue, many dating from the early 1800s.
Art Full Text & Art Index Retrospective
Indexing for hundreds of international art publications, including peer-reviewed journals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, with full text provided for many.
Coverage: Indexing from 1929; abstracting from 1984; full text from 1997
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
A comprehensive index of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design and historic preservation.
Coverage: 1741 to present
Humanities International Complete
Index to scholarly articles covering topics such as history, music, literature, philosophy and religion.

Search in Summon

To find articles in Summon, do a search, then use the boxes on the left to limit to scholarly publications, journals, and the language English. Click on a result to link to full text for those that have it. For those that say "citation online," click and then use the Find It! button in the database to link to full text.

Journals at BGSU

Journal of the American Research Center in Egypt

Journal of the American Research Center in Egypt

Journal of Egyptian Archaeology

Ancient Egypt

Publishes scholarly research on the art, archaeology, languages, history, and social systems of the Egyptian people. Full text of JARC is available in JSTOR from 1962-2005.

Publishes scholarly articles on ancient Egyptian culture, archaeology, history and texts. Full text of JEA is available in JSTOR from 1914-2006. Also in print.

Museum and exhibition reviews, educational material, book reviews, features and an introduction to hieroglyphs. Full text of Ancient Egypt is available online, 2008-present.

Getting full text

While databases like JSTOR are all full text, many other databases, like Art Full Text, may only have descriptions of the articles and not the full text itself. Here's how to get to full text when it's not in the database you're searching:

Click on the "Find it!" button

If there is full text in another database, you will either be taken directly to the article, or you will see a link that says "Full text item" which will take you there.

If there is not a link to full text, there will be a link to Interlibrary Loan so that you can request a copy from another library.

To place an interlibrary loan request, you must create an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) account, which you can do by clicking on "Interlibrary Loan" on the library's home page. ILL requests for articles are often filled much quicker than those for books because libraries usually scan the articles, and they are delivered to you online as a pdf.