LibGuides: ARTH 3190: Egyptian Art: Home

Key resources

Toledo Museum of Art Collection Online
Scroll down and click on "Browse the Collection." From the search box, type keywords or object numbers to find a specific object.

Reference Sources

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt by Donald B. Redford (Ed.)
Call Number: online
ISBN: 9780195102345
Publication Date: 2001
This three-volume reference work is an essential source of concise, scholarly information about the concepts, people, and places of ancient Egypt, both major and minor.

Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online includes the peer-reviewed, regularly updated Grove Art Online, The Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, providing access to thousands of articles spanning ancient to contemporary art and architecture, as well as images of works of art, structures, plans, and artist signatures.

Access limited to 3 users at a time.

Books

Summon
Limit to material type books after you search to only bring up books (in print and online) at Jerome Library.
OhioLINK
Use OhioLINK to find books at any of the 90+ OhioLINK libraries and request they be sent to BGSU so you can check them out.

WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch)
Use WorldCat to find books owned by libraries across the United States and worldwide. You can borrow them by placing a request in ILLiad.
Freely Available Version
Mobile access (for freely available version)

Articles

JSTOR
Over a thousand full-text scholarly journals and books covering all subjects in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. History, economics, art, literature, and mathematics are particularly strong. All journal titles are archived back to the first issue, many dating from the early 1800s.

Art Databases in EBSCO
Use this link to search the EBSCO databases Academic Search Complete, Art Full Text & Art Index Retrospective, and Humanities International Complete.

Image Sources

British Museum - Search the collection database
Search the British Museum's collection of objects from Ancient Egypt.
Metropolitan Museum of Art Collection
Another remarkable collection of Egyptian antiquities.

ARTstor
ARTstor is a great place to find objects related to an object you are researching. Search by keyword and use the information in ARTstor to identify contextualizing objects. Look at their descriptions in ARTstor or visit the website of the institution that owns the object to learn more about it.
Faculty can create course folders in ARTstor to share specific images with students. In order to access this feature, faculty must register for ARTstor instructor privileges, which requires an authorization code and password. Contact the Jerome Library reference desk for this information.

Librarian

Laura Sheets

she/her/hers

Email Me

Subjects: Art & Design, Business & Economics, Law & Government, Philosophy & Religion, Rhetoric & Writing, Videos & Images

Suggested keywords

For ancient art, knowing a range of alternate terms and spellings for them will aid you in your research. This is because scholars from different time periods and geographic areas spell the same terms different ways, but many library databases will only match the term as you type it in. I tried a range of spellings for the objects specified for your assignment in the resources suggested to the left. Below are my suggestions:

1959.40: Relief of Akhet-Hotep, from his tomb chapel, Saqqara, Old Kingdom, Dynasty 4 (c. 2575-2551 BCE)

Source	Spelling
Oxford Art Online	n/a
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt	“Akhethetep” and “Akhethotep” are both used as isolated keywords
Summon	“Akhethetep” is best
JSTOR	“Akhet-hetep” is best; “Akhet-hotep” gives a few results too
EBSCO	“Akhethetep”
British Museum	n/a
Met	n/a
ARTstor	“Akhethetep”
Other notes	Try “Saqqara,” “Saqqareh” and “Saqqarah”; try “mastaba” in place of “tomb”

1925.522: Fragment of a Relief: Amunhotep III Offering to the Gods, from the Tura quarry near Memphis, New Kingdom, Dynasty 18 (c. 1390 BCE)

Source	Spelling
Oxford Art Online	n/a
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt	“Amenhotpe III” is the subject entry
Summon	“Amenhotep III” is best
JSTOR	“Amenhotep III” is best; “Amunhotep” and “Amenhotpe” also give some results
EBSCO	“Amenhotep III”
British Museum	“Amenhotep III” and “Amenhotpe III” both work
Met	“Amenhotep III” and “Amenhotpe III” both work
ARTstor	“Amenhotep III” is best; a few results for “Amunhotep III”
Other notes	n/a

1962.24: Relief of Amun-hotep, Chief Physician and Royal Scribe, from his tomb chapel at Deir Derunka, Asyut, Early Dynasty 19 (c. 1280 BCE)

Source	Spelling
Oxford Art Online	n/a
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt	search for Amenhotep and the word physician
Summon	Amenhotep
JSTOR	Amenhotep
EBSCO	Amenhotep
British Museum	Amenhotep
Met	Amenhotep
ARTstor	Amenhotep
Other notes	Try “Deir Durunka” as well as “Deir Derunka.” "Assiut" is another spelling for Asyut.

1927.154: Seated Statue of Sakhmet, from the Temple of Mut at Karnak, Dynasty 18

Source	Spelling
Oxford Art Online	Both “Sakhmet” and “Sekhmet” give results as isolated keywords
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt	Both “Sakhmet” & “Sekhmet”; “Sakhmet” is a little better
Summon	Both “Sakhmet” & “Sekhmet”; “Sekhmet” is a little better
JSTOR	Both “Sakhmet” & “Sekhmet”; “Sekhmet” is better
EBSCO	Both “Sakhmet” & “Sekhmet”; “Sekhmet” is better
British Museum	Both “Sakhmet” & “Sekhmet”; “Sakhmet” is a little better
Met	Both “Sakhmet” & “Sekhmet”; “Sakhmet” is a little better
ARTstor	Both “Sakhmet” & “Sekhmet”; “Sekhmet” is better
Other notes	“Temple of Mut” is good

1906.1A-B: Coffin of Ta-Mit, from Luxor, Dynasty 26 (c. 600-550 BCE)

Source	Spelling
Oxford Art Online	n/a
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt	n/a
Summon	n/a
JSTOR	n/a
EBSCO	n/a
British Museum	n/a
Met	n/a
ARTstor	n/a
Other notes	Try focusing on wooden coffins/sarcophagi

*Selected EBSCO databases: Academic Search Complete, Art Full Text & Art Index Retrospective, Humanities International Complete