SETGO
Students participating in the SETGO summer program can use this guide to get started with their literature searches. If you have a question about locating information for your project, please use the "Contact Information" box on the right-side of this Libguide.
Publications from the United States Government
- The United States Government ManualThis publication describes how the U.S. Government is organized. Determine who is in charge and how to contact them.
- The Statistical Abstract of the United States.A single volume reference work that provides summary statistics regarding the United States. You can also use this as a guide to additional statistical information resources.
Peer Reviewed or Scholarly FAQ
What are scholarly or peer reviewed articles?
Professors often require students to find scholarly and peer reviewed articles. These items:
- generally focus on scholarly research
- are written by experts in the field or discipline
- are critically reviewed by other experts before publication
- contain cited references to the information sources used
How do I find scholarly or peer reviewed articles?
Many of the library's databases contain scholarly or peer reviewed material and allow you to limit your search to include only these articles in the results. Use the advanced search feature in a database to find the option to limit to this type of search.
Click here for more information on scholarly, popular and trade publications.
Peer Review
- Sense About ScienceThis organization has a number of interesting publications, such as: "I don't know what to believe ... " / "Peer Review and the Acceptance of New Scientific Ideas" / Sense about Systematic Reviews."
- Nature - Peer review
- US EPA - Peer Review Handbook
Two Citation Databases to Know
Additional Science Databases
Need Help Creating Your Bibliography?
Creating a Poster or Presentation
- Poster and Presentation Resources - The Graduate School at UNC-Chapel HillTake a look at the advice provided in the first link under the heading ACADEMIC POSTER DESIGN ADVICE -- "Creating Effective Poster Sessions: An Effective Poster (NC State)."
- Writing GuidesClick on POSTER SESSIONS, then EXAMPLE POSTER SESSIONS, then IMAGES OF PHYSICAL POSTERS, then choose to view poster one through poster six (when viewing the posters, click on various poster sections to see comments on the sections).
- The Poster Production Show HomepageLocated at the end are sample posters for you to evaluate on their strengths and weaknesses.
- Designing Conference PostersThis website from Colin Purrington provides many useful tips on poster design.
Contact Information |
Contact Info Ed Weilant Phone: 419-372-2528 Subjects: Communication Sciences and Disorders, Computer Science, Environment and Sustainability, Geography, Geology, Gerontology, Medical Laboratory Science, Public and Allied Health. Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Search Summon
Power search library resources and more!
Already have a journal title?
If you already have a journal citation from an existing bibliography or some other source, use this tool to see where you can find the article:


Loading...
