Film Journals
Critical Approaches
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
BGSU
Home Academics Admissions The Arts Athletics Libraries Offices
Admin Sign In 

Film & Media Studies Resources  Tags: films movies pop_culture television  

Last update: Aug 04th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.bgsu.edu/film  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Reviews             Print Page
  
 

Finding Reviews

In Reference Books

Film Literature Index (1973-1995)
Scope is international and indexes over 250 periodicals.
Main Ref Index Z5784.M9F45

Film Review Annual (1981 to present)
Reprints reviews of full length films released in the U.S.
REF PN1995.F463

Film Review Index (1882-1985)
V. 1 - 1992-1949, V. 2
Search for reviews by film title
REF PN1995.F464 v.1 & 2

Index to Critical Film Reviews in British and American Film Periodicals
Together with Index to Critical Reviews of Books About Film
Has indexes of Authors, Film Reviewers, Book Reviewers, and Directors
REF PN1995.I5 V. 1-3

A Guide to Critical Reviews
See part IV, The Screenplay
REF PN2266.S25

Magill's Cinema Annual (latest 10 years are in Main Reference)
Includes selective reviews of important films.
REF PN1993.3.M34

Magill's Survey of Cinema
Covers English Language Films and Foreign Language Films.
REF PN1993.45.M3
Companion to Magill's Survey of Cinema: Silent Films at REF PN 1995.M33 1982

Media Review Digest
Index to reviews of videos, DVDs, and more. Includes reviews of major motion picture releases, non-fiction productions on various topics, and instructional films. Latest 5 years are in Main Reference.
REF LB1043.Z9M4

Motion Picture Guide 1927-1983
A film encyclopedia
REF PN1995.N346 1985

Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature (1890-1985)
Search the headings "Motion Pictures" or "Moving Picture Plays"
Main Ref Index AI 3 .R28x

Retrospective Index to Film Periodials, 1930-1971
Comprised of three separate sections to search: Individual Film, Subject, and Book Reviews
REF Z5784.M9B39

Selected Film Criticism (1896-1960)
Reviews are reprinted in full. Includes foreign films from 1930 to 1950.
REF PN1995.S426

Variety Film Reviews (1907-1988)
Reprinted reviews from Variety
REF PN1995.V34 1982

In Research Databases

Academic Search Complete
Use the subject term motion pictures--reviews along with the name of the film to find reviews.

Humanities International Complete
Simply type in the title of the film or combine the title of the film with the word reviews using an AND in between to find film reviews.

LexisNexis Academic
Go to the Arts & Sports section to find movie and play reviews

MasterFILE Premier
Use the subject term motion pictures--reviews along with the name of the film to find reviews.

MLA International Bibliography
Simply type in the name of the film.

New York Times Historical
Searchable online archive of the New York Times. Includes articles, reviews, obituaries, and much more. To search the New York Times after 2001, use LexisNexis Academic.

On Web Sites

Women’s Studies Database - Film Reviews
http://www.mith2.umd.edu/WomensStudies/FilmReviews/
Reviews, conferences, reading room, call for papers, syllabi, web sites, reference room, bibliography, gender issues

Empire Film Reviews
http://www.empireonline.co.uk
Reviews, movie trailers, DVDs top rentals, news headlines

Bright Lights Film Reviews
http://www.brightlightsfilm.com/reviews.html
Reviews, festivals, Hong Kong films, interviews, web links, avant grade films, animation, actor/director profiles, tranny cinema

Channel 4 Film Reviews
http://www.channel4.com/film
Reviews, shorts & clips, culture, sports, cars, entertainment, making movies

Internet Movie Database (IMDb)
http://www.imdb.com
Reviews, news letter, celebrity news

At-A-Glance Film Reviews
http://rinkworks.com/movies
Reviews (by decade, quality, artist & genre), articles

British Art Films
http://www.reviewcentre.com/products1782.html
Reviews, articles

Film Link Gateway
http://www.bfi.org.uk/gateway/categories/journals/
Reviews, documentary, web links, festivals, scriptwriting, history of film, education, censorship, databanks, organizations

Japanese Film Reviews
http://pears.lib.ohio-state.edu/Markus/Reviews.html
Reviews

Foreign Films
http://worldfilm.about.com/od/foreignfilm/
Reviews

Movie Review Query Engine
http://www.mrqe.com/lookup
reviews, web links

Gay Film Reviews
http://www.365gay.com/entertainment/screen/Screen.htm
Reviews, television, gossip, video reviews, health, style, music

European Film Review
http://www.erratica.co.uk/reviews
Reviews, articles, web links, forums

Chinese Cinema Page
http://www.chinesecinemas.org
Reviews (chronologically & country of origin), web links, forums

New York Times Reviews
http://www.nytimes.com/pages/movies/index.html
Reviews (by genres, year, critics, country of origin), articles

Planet Bollywood
http://www.planetbollywood.com/Film/
Reviews, music reviews, news gossip, special features

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageStefanie Hunker
Contact Info:
Browne Popular Culture Library
419-372-7893
Send Email

Subjects:
Film, Television, Theatre, Popular Culture

 

Meebo

Use IM to chat with staff at the Research & Information Desk. For information about how to visit us, phone us, or email us, visit the Ask Us! page.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait