Film Journals
Critical Approaches
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
BGSU
Home Academics Admissions The Arts Athletics Libraries Offices
Admin Sign In 

Film & Media Studies Resources  Tags: films movies pop_culture television  

Last update: Aug 04th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.bgsu.edu/film  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Finding Articles             Print Page
  
 

Other Places to Look

Consult the Film Journals page for the film periodicals University Libraries subscribe to.

Already have a journal title?

If you already have a journal citation from an existing bibliography or some other source, use this tool to see if you can find the article online or in print:

Peer Review

Want to know more about the differences between magazines and peer-reviewed journals? Consult this web page created by the BGSU Libraries:

 
 

Indexes

Academic Search Complete
This database covers most topics and has some attached full-text. It is a mix of scholarly journals, popular magazines, and trade publications.

American Film Index
REF PN1998.L26

America: History and Life
Use this database to find scholarly information on films with an historical or cultural focus.

Art Full Text (1984-present)
Use this to find articles on lighting, production, scenes, costume, etc.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Search for scholarly citations covering arts and humanities topic areas.

The Critical Index: A Bibliography of Articles on Film in English, 1946-1973
Indexes 22 film periodicals (American, British, Canadian) and covers all kinds of film information. Arranged by name and topic.
Z5784.M9G47 (Main Lib - 1st floor)

Film Literature Index (1976-2001)
Scope is international and indexes over 250 periodicals. This resource is also in the Index area in Main Reference with the call number Main Ref Index Z5784.M9F45 (1972-2004). The most recent issues of the index are in the print version.

Film Research: A Critical Bibliography with Annotations and Essay
Find lists of essential works in film, film periodicals, and a bibliography on many different subjects.
Z5784.M9B897 (Main Lib. - 1st floor)

Humanities International Complete
"...provides citations and abstracts for books, book articles, dissertations, journal articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations "

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance
Covers all aspects of theatre and dance as well as some for motion pictures.

International Index to Film Periodicals (1972-1994)
Indexes 92 film periodicals. Individual films are listed.
Main Ref Index Z5784.M9I49

JSTOR
Full text of back issues of select scholarly journals. Can search by keyword or subject area. Dates of coverage vary by journal title. Journal titles in JSTOR can also be accessed via the BGSU Libraries Catalog.

LexisNexis Academic
Search full text newspapers, magazines, and much more.

Macmillan Film Bibliography: A Critical Guide to the Literature of the Motion Picture
Arranged by subject index (mostly books, few periodicals), author index, and script index
REF Z5784.M9R423 1982 V. 1-2

MasterFile Premier
Abstracts and full text of popular magazines and journals.

MLA International Bibliography (1963-present)
Find scholarly information on film literature

The New Film Index: A Bibliography of Magazine Articles in English 1930-1970
Covers topic areas such as: film theory and criticism, film history, film and society, and more
REF Z5784.M9M29 1975

New York Times 1851-2001
Searchable online archive of the New York Times. Includes articles, reviews, obituaries, and much more. To search the New York Times after 2001, use LexisNexis Academic.

Retrospective Index to Film Periodials, 1930-1971
Comprised of three separate sections to search: Individual Film, Subject, and Book Reviews
REF Z5784.M9B39

SOCIndex
Provides coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study

 

E-Journals

Do you want to find out if a particular journal is available electronically? Use this tool to explore BGSU's e-journal holdings.

Search by title or ISSN

Peer Review

Want to know more about the differences between magazines and peer-reviewed journals? Consult this web page created by the BGSU Libraries:

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageStefanie Hunker
Contact Info:
Browne Popular Culture Library
419-372-7893
Send Email

Subjects:
Film, Television, Theatre, Popular Culture

 

Meebo

Use IM to chat with staff at the Research & Information Desk. For information about how to visit us, phone us, or email us, visit the Ask Us! page.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait