HIST 3213: American Colonial History: Internet Sites

This yearbook covered events in Great Britain, Europe, and the United States. The microcard collection covers the years 1758 to 1889. The BGSU Libraries also own some paper copies of the Annual Register of World Events, mostly issues from 1914 to 1972. This publication is good for overviews of public affairs and news.

There's a guide to using this collection at http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/help-with-your-research/research-guides/america-west-indies-calendar-state-papers-colonial-1573-1739/

"When complete, the project will make available to the world approximately 650,000 digitized pages of all known archival and manuscript materials in the Harvard Library that relate to 17th- and 18th-century North America."

Although the focus of this collection is western Pennsylvania, it contains volumes on Massachusetts, Virginia, and the slave trade.

Correspondence and writings of six major shapers of the United States

Papers of the Friendly Association for Regaining and Preserving Peace with the Indians by Pacific Measures, a Quaker organization

An account book about goods imported, including slaves.

The collection consists of the great majority of Edwards’ surviving manuscripts including over one thousand sermons, private theological and philosophical notebooks, correspondence, printed materials, and artifacts.

A searchable database of enslaved people who lived on the Monticello plantation

Includes maps

"The Portal represents a scholarly critical edition of New England Native American primary source materials gathered presently from the partner institutions into one robust virtual collection, where the items are digitized, transcribed, annotated, and edited to the highest academic standards and then made freely available over the Internet, using open-source software."

Full view in Hathi Trust, volumes 1-15

A HathiTrust collection of more then 800 volumes of legislation, court records, correspondence, and other documents of the original 13 colonies.

This includes many links to books by Richard Hakluyt, including his books about North America.

"This collection provides insight into the lives of ordinary people from New England and the Mid-Atlantic from the colonial period into the 20th century through property deeds, judicial records and other legal documents, financial records, correspondence, and more. Originals held by the Law Library."

Court documents about witchcraft and other crimes.

"The Virginia Museum of History & Culture launched Unknown No Longer in 2011 to make accessible biographical details of enslaved Virginians from unpublished historical records in its collections. At the beginning of 2019, the unique content of Unknown No Longer was moved to be hosted on the Virginia Untold portal operated by the Library of Virginia, providing users with access to an expanded collection of resources for researching African American history in Virginia."

Part of the Thomas Jefferson Papers

"The Library of Virginia's African American Narrative project aims to provide great accessibility to pre-1865 African American history and genealogy found in the rich primary sources in its holdings."

London agent of the Massachusetts Bay Colony.