A Few Useful Reference Books
Reference books are useful for identifying people, places, events, dates, etc. Many articles in reference books include a bibliography of recommended sources. Here are a few history reference books that may be useful.
The A to Z of Revolutionary America by Call Number: REF E209 .M356 2007ISBN: 9780810853607Publication Date: 2007-02-16
American Revolution by Call Number: Request from OhioLINKISBN: 9781851097036Publication Date: 2007-08-01
Colonial America by Call Number: REF E162 .C68 2006 v.1-5ISBN: 0765680653Publication Date: 2006-05-15
The Constitutional Convention Of 1787 by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 1851096698Publication Date: 2005-06-24- A Dictionary of British America, 1584-1783 byCall Number: REF E188 .G34 2007ISBN: 9780230002289Publication Date: 2007-07-15
- The Encyclopedia of Colonial and Revolutionary America byCall Number: REF E188.E63 1990ISBN: 0816017441Publication Date: 1988-12-01
The Encyclopedia of the American Revolutionary War by Call Number: Request from OhioLINKISBN: 1851094083Publication Date: 2006-09-28
The Encyclopedia of the New American Nation by Call Number: REF E301 .E53 2006 v.1-3ISBN: 0684313464Publication Date: 2005-10-21
Start Here To Search for Books
When you know the title of the item you are seeking, the first step is to search by title in an online catalog.
- BGSU Libraries CatalogIndexes books, magazines and journals, videos, music, and electronic resources that are owned by BGSU.
- OhioLINK Central CatalogIf BGSU doesn't own the book, try the OhioLINK Central Catalog. It contains the holdings of the libraries at more than 80 colleges and universities throughout Ohio. You can request OhioLINK books online and have them delivered in 2-4 days.
- WorldCatWorldCat is a database of the holdings of many libraries throughout North American and some other countries. If you identify a publication you want to borrow, you can use your Interlibrary Loan (ILL) account to request it.
Searching for E-Books
The library provides access to more than 50,000 books from a variety of sources. For information about ebooks, see:
A Few of the Bibliographies That May Be Useful
- Books About Early America: 2001 TitlesCall Number: Main Lib - 1st Floor E 188 .A82
- Books on Early America History and Culture, 1981-1985: An Annotated BibliographyCall Number: Main Lib - 1st Floor E 188 .I79 2004
- Books on Early American History and Culture 1991-1995: An Annotated BibliographyCall Number: Main Lib - 1st Floor E 188 .I79 2000
- Books on Early American History and Culture, 1986-1990: An Annotated BibliographyCall Number: Main Lib - 1st Floor E 188 .I788 2001
- Books on Early American History and Culture, 1951-1960: An Annotated BibliographyCall Number: Main Lib - 1st Floor E 188 .I789 2006
- Books on Early American History and Culture, 1971-1980: An Annotated BibliographyCall Number: Main Lib - 1st Floor E 188 .I79 2004