Notation
- Blank Music Paper (University of Virginia)PDF files of blank staff paper
- Noteflight"an online music writing application that lets you create, view, print and hear music notation with professional quality, right in your web browser"
- PartifiPartifi is a tool for turning complete scores into parts. Choose from scores uploaded to IMSLP or upload your own PDF.
Theory
- Blank Music Paper (University of Virginia)PDF files of blank staff paper
- A Counterpoint Tutor"a collection of web pages which presents an introduction to Species Counterpoint, based on J.J.Fux's Gradus Ad Parnassus (1725)" as well as overviews of basic music theory
- Interactive Circle of Fifths"The Interactive Circle of Fifths ("the Circle" for short) is a tool designed to help musicians to: figure out the key of a piece of music, easily transpose music to a different key, compose new music, [and] understand key signatures, scales, and modes"
- Music Theory Toolscalculators for accidentals, intervals, chords, analyses, and matrices
Awesome Links
"That Was Easy," by Beth Hoffman, CC License 2.0
Welcome to our Awesome Links page. These tools are all free and designed to make a musician's life easier.
General Reference
- Musician's Necrology Indexa guide to death dates for musicians from the Gaylord Music Library at Washington University
- Pronouncing Dictionary of Music and Musiciansa guide to pronouncing musician, composer, and work names from Iowa Public Radio
- 6 times 9 Media Libraryan application to help you catalog your media collection and track media lent to others via Gmail
Name that Tune
- Electronic Dictionary of Musical Themesa multimedia version of Barlow and Morgenstern's Dictionary of Musical Themes; search by composer, note (solfeggio), or category of music and hear MIDI versions of common themes from the Western canon
- The Hymn Tune Index"The HTI database contains all hymn tunes printed anywhere in the world with English-language texts up to 1820, and their publication history up to that date."
- MidomiSing or play a tune into your computer's microphone to identify songs.
- Musipedia Music SearchSearch for tunes by playing them on a virtual piano keyboard, whistling or humming into your computer's microphone, tapping the rhythm on your computer's keyboard, or entering the melodic contour.
- SongtapperSearch by rhythm for well-known tunes and get a list of possible matches.
- WhoSampledTrace who sampled which artists and songs.
Get Help!

If you need help, please call (419-372-2307), e-mail (mlsra@bgsu.edu), click on "Ask a Librarian" below to chat, or click on the "Ask Us" button to search our knowledge base.
The Music Library and Sound Recordings Archives are located on the third floor of Jerome Library. Check our hours on the University Libraries' site.
Playlist it
- Minilogs"Playlist the Web!" With Minilogs, you can gather links from a number of different sources (YouTube, Facebook, SoundCloud, Last.fm, and more) and generate a playlist to share with the world.











Loading...
