Reference Materials in the LibrarySelected Electronic Resources
Anthologies and BooksSelected Electronic Resources
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
BGSU
Home Academics Admissions The Arts Athletics Libraries Offices
Admin Sign In 

Literary Studies  Tags: english literature critical_studies  

A guide to English literature and literary criticism.
Last update: Sep 17th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.bgsu.edu/litstudies  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Author Biographies             Print Page
  
 

Author Information

Need to know about a writer? If a biography or an autobiography exists, you may find it by searching the author's name in the library catalog. If book-length information doesn't exist on an author, you'll need a new strategy. Check out these possibilities for searching out biographical information within collections on authors.

Recommended Databases and Websites

Dictionary of Literary Biography is part of the Literature Resource Center, a searchable database of information about authors and their works, including biographies, portraits, critical essays, excerpts of literary criticism, summaries of works, and full text journal articles. Much of the content was originally published in such Gale series as Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth Century Literary Criticism, Short Story Criticism, etc. The DLB is also available in paper at the Jerome Library.

Oxford Companion to Twentieth-Century Poetry in English provides a globally comprehensive guide to modern poetry in English. Celebrated poets offer views on their fellow poets. 1,500 poets are covered from W.H. Auden to Benjamin Zephaniah.

LitLinks provides biographies and annotated links for over 700 anthologized writers of poetry, plays, fiction, and essays. Users search either by author names or browse by authors. Free and open collection.

 

Recommended Reference Books

Cambridge Guide to Women's Writing in English provides biographical information on women writing in English throughout the world and from the Middle Ages to present day.

Contemporary American Ethnic Poets: Lives, Works, Sources presents the lives and literary contributions of famous poets and unfamiliar poets with multicultural backgrounds. Full bibliographic information following each entry will help users locate the collections and anthologies.

Contemporary Poets provides biographical and bibliographic information as well as brief critical essays on 787 poets.

Contemporary Women Poets provides biographical, bibliographic, and critical entries on nearly 250 of the most prominent women poets currently writing and or publishing in the English language today.

Critical Survey of Poetry provides biographies, analyses, and bibliographies for 698 poets. Also included are critical essays on broad subjects, such as "Native American Poetry," "Feminist Criticism," etc. Coverage is worldwide and begins in the 13th century. 8 volumes.

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageAmy Fyn
Contact Info:
152 Jerome Library
Bowling Green State University
419.372.2869
Send Email

 

Meebo

Use IM to chat with staff at the Research & Information Desk. For information about how to visit us, phone us, or email us, visit the Ask Us! page.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait