I've Graduated: Now What?: Finding Articles

A number of research databases are available to Ohio residents with a public library card. See:

Ohio Web Library: http://www.oplin.org/databases/

Many other states also have statewide agencies that purchase databases for all residents, including Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, etc.

Most of the library's databases are only available with a subscription (and are very expensive), which is why only BGSU students, faculty and staff can log in and use them from off campus. However, many research databases, particularly those produced by the government, are free. This list will help you determine if a database you use frequently can be accessed for free.

Here's a selection, by subject:

Art & Art History

• Bibliography of the History of Art: Western art history. 1990-2009.
• WorldImages: digital images.

Biography

• In the First Person: Interviews, oral histories and personal histories. 1558-present.

Business

• Hoovers: Company and industry information.

Criminal Justice

• NCJRS Abstracts: article abstracts from the National Criminal Justice Reference Service. 1961-present.

Dissertations

• NDLTD: Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations. 2005-present.
• OhioLINK Electronic Theses & Dissertations Center (ETD)

E-Books

• Google Books: a Google search for the full text of millions of books.
• Internet Archive: digital text, audio, video and archived websites.
• Project Gutenberg: literature and reference books.

Economics

• IDEAS: Internet Documents in Economics Access Service. 1920s-present.

Education

• ERIC: the most comprehensive database for education research. 1966-present.
• Teacher Reference Center: professional journals for teachers. From EBSCO.

Ethnic Studies

• HLAS: Handbook of Latin American Studies. Index to articles and books. 1990-present.

Film

• Film Literature Index: 1976-2001.

Law & Government

• C-SPAN Video Library: streaming video for all C-SPAN broadcasts since 1987. 1987-present.
• FDSys: government publications.

Library Science

• LISTA: Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts. 1960s to present.

Medicine, Health & Nursing

• PubMed: articles in the life sciences and biomedical journals. 1950s to present.
• Medline Plus

Music

• RoJaRo: find articles about popular music. 1992-present.

Sciences

• Agricola: search books and articles owned by the National Agricultural Library.
• DOAJ: open-access scholarly journals.
• GreenFILE: articles about environmental issues. From EBSCO. 1913-present.
• PubMed: articles in the life sciences and biomedical journals. 1950s to present.
• PLoS: Public Library of Science.

Social Sciences

• DOAJ: open-access scholarly journals.
• ERIC: articles and research reports on education and the social sciences. 1966-present.