Recommended Reference Resources
Most of these books can be located in the Main Reference collection or the main stacks on the first floor of Jerome Library.
- African Folklore: An Encyclopedia
Presents over 300 entries on topics in African folklore, emphasizing both the singularities and commonalities of African folklore traditions. Includes comprehensive index and appendices. - American Folklore: An Encyclopedia
Over 500 scholarly, comprehensive entries covering the topic of American Folklore. Includes bibliographies. - American Folktales: From the Collections of the Library of Congress

2 volumes. Presents transcriptions of audio recordings and spoken performances of folktales housed at the American Folklife Center in Washington D.C. Includes notes on the tales, a comprehensive bibliography, and several indexes. - American Regional Folklore: A Sourcebook and Research Guide
Book is divided into two sections. The first section discusses research in the filed of folklore and tips for finding additional sources, while the second section is a comprehensive annotated bibliography. - Folklore and Folklife: A Guide to English-language Reference Sources
2 volumes. A comprehensive bibliographic list of reference works on Folklore. - Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Beliefs, Customs, Tales, Music and Art

This volume is a comprehensive general reference work on forms, methods of inquiry and analysis of folklore. Also available off-campus, see info. - Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Folklore
3 volumes. Gives special attention to music, art, folktales, spiritual beliefs, foodways, proverbs and other topics central to African American folklore. Includes over 700 entries by more than 100 contributors. - Guide to Folktales in the English Language
Reference work of folktales based on numeric organization system of Aarne-Thompson: 1-299 fables; 300-749 tales of magic; 750-849 religious based moral stories; 850-999 romantic tales; 1000-1999 anecdotes; 2000-2399 formula tales. - Motif-Index of Folk-Literature; a Classification of Narrative Elements in Folk-Tales, Ballads, Myths, Fables, Mediaeval Romances

This work is a list of motifs pertaining to literature. Such items covered are folktales, myths, ballads, fables, mediaeval romance stories, and other literary items. - Oxford Companion to Fairy Tales
Arranged alphabetically, covers illustrators, authors, titles and countries of origin. In addition to numerous accompanying illustrations, volume also includes authors of classic children's literature and adult fantasy. - Popular Beliefs and Superstitions : a Compendium of American Folklore : from the Ohio Collection of Newbell Niles Puckett
3 volumes; only volumes 1 and 3 available. This reference book, which includes an index, provides a broadly based collection of folk beliefs, customs and magical practices in the USA. - Storytelling Encyclopedia: Historical, Cultural, and Multiethnic Approaches to Oral Traditions Around the World
This book discusses the history, purpose, multiethnic, and cultural dimensions of story telling and aims to introduce the subject of story telling.
Ask Us! |
Research & Information DeskOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Jerome Library
Research & Information Desk
419.372.6943
Send Email
![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Jerome Library
Research & Information Desk
419.372.6943
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait














Loading content... please wait