Getting Started at the University Libraries
- To borrow items from the libraries, you need your BGSU photo ID and a current record in the library database. For more detailed information, see Borrowing, Renewing, and Requesting.
- For remote access to the online research databases,
you must create a password (PIN) to activate "My Library Account".
Click the "first time user" link on the login page and follow the
instructions.
- If the University Libraries doesn't have what you need, chances are that OhioLINK does. OhioLINK is the 80+ academic (and some public) libraries that lend their resources to one another through an online requesting system. Look for the "Request this item" button in the OhioLINK catalog. For more detailed information, see OhioLINK requesting.
- We're here to assist you! If you need help using the library, can't find what you want, have an assignment and need help getting started, Ask Us! for immediate help. Besides drop-in help, the University Libraries offer Individual Research Appointments for undergraduates & graduate students.
Peer Reviewed or Scholarly FAQ
What are scholarly or peer reviewed articles?
Professors often require students to find scholarly and peer reviewed articles. These items:
- generally focus on scholarly research
- are written by experts in the field or discipline
- are critically reviewed by other experts before publication
- contain cited references to the information sources used
How do I find scholarly or peer reviewed articles?
Many of the library's databases contain scholarly or peer reviewed material and allow you to limit your search to include only these articles in the results. Use the advanced search feature in a database to find the option to limit to this type of search.
Click here for more information on scholarly, popular and trade publications.
Introduction
Welcome to the research portal for the School of Media and Communication. At this site, you will find suggestions for ways to get started with your research including links to library research databases, to reference books and more. If you have any questions, you should start at the Research and Information Desk located on the first floor of Jerome Library. If you would like to set up an appointment to work through a research project, I am the Librarian assigned to Communication Studies. My contact information is to the right.
Research Databases for Scholarly Articles in Media and Communication
Books About Media and Communication
- Communication Yearbook
Call Number: ref P87.C5974
Most recent 5 years available in the Electronic Journal Center - Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies
Call Number: ref P87.5 .W38 2006 - Dictionary of Mass Communication and Media Research: A Guide for Students, Scholars, and Professionals
Call Number: ref P87.5 .D449 2005 - Dictionary of Media Studies
Call Number: ref P87.5 .D53 2006 - Encyclopedia of Communication and Information
Call Number: ref P87.5 .E53 2002
3 Volumes - Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications
Call Number: ref P87.5 .E532 2003
4 Volumes - Encyclopedia of Media and Politics
Call Number: ref P95.82.U6 E47 2007 - Encyclopedic Dictionary of Semiotics, Media, and Communications
- Media and Politics in America
Call Number: e-book - Violence in the Media: A Reference Handbook
Call Number: e-book
Evaluation
Description
Loading content... please wait











Loading content... please wait