The below list contains a sampling of archival collections in the CAC that students may find particularly useful for the purposes of this course. Each collection listed below is linked to its corresponding online finding aid.
The list is by no means exhaustive; students are encouraged to visit the CAC's finding aid portal to explore additional collections that may prove valuable in their research. All finding aids are full-text searchable.
A helpful starting point may be to select "Agriculture" from the category list on the main page of the finding aid portal, which will return all collection finding aids that have been tagged with the Agriculture category.
pOG 1006 - Kaatz, Martin R. The Black Swamp: A Study in Historical Geogrpahy.
OG F 499.B72 B65 - Bowling Green Sesquicentennial Commission. Bowling Green, Ohio: A Sesquicentennial History, 1833-1983. Bowling Green: Sesquicentennial Commission, 1985. A contemporary history of the city from its beginnings.
pUA 1411 - Bowling Green State University. Land Inventory. Bowling Green, Ohio: BGSU, 1972. Lists land acquired by the university, date, from whom acquired, and legal description
pOG 3479 1994 - Burke, Thomas Aquinas. Ohio Lands: A Short History.[Columbus]: Ohio Auditor of State, n.d.
OG F 497.W8 C7 1897x - Commemorative, Historical and Biographical Record of Wood County, Ohio: Its Past and Present, Early Settlement and Development...Biographies and Portraits of Early Settlers and Representative Citizens...Chicago: J. H. Beers & Co., 1897. Separate every-name index available.
pOG 4289 - Deters, Morgan. The Rise of Bowling Green. Bowling Green, Ohio: Deters, 1996.
OG F497.W8 E8 - Evers, C. W. The Pioneer Scrap-Book of Wood County and the Maumee Valley. Bowling Green, 1909. Separate index available.
OG HD1775.O3 J66 1983 - Jones, Robert Leslie. History of Agriculture in Ohio to 1880. Kent, Ohio: Kent State University Press, 1983.
HD1761.G255 1968 - Gates, Paul Wallace. The Farmer's Age: Agriculture, 1815-1860. New York: Harper & Row, 1968
S521.5O3 G57 - Good, E. Howard. Black Swamp Farm. Columbus: Ohio State University Press, 1967
E101.N63 1997 - Nobles, Gregory H. American Frontiers: Cultural Encounters and Continental Conquest. New York: Hill & Wang, 1997
F499.B72 V2 - Van Tassel, Charles Sumner. The First One Hundred Years of Bowling Green, Ohio. Bowling Green, Ohio: Wood County News, 1932.
GF41.R87 199 - Russell, Emily W. B. People and the Land through Time: Linking Ecology and History. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1997.
HD191.S3 1964 - Sakolski, Aaron Morton. The Great American Land Bubble: the Amazing Story of Land-grabbing Speculations, and Booms from Colonial Days to the Present Time. New York and London: Harper & Brothers, 1932.
The CAC has made every issue of the BG News from 1920 to the present day available in digital form on BGSU's institutional repository, ScholarWorks. All issues are full-text searchable. A separate index to the BG News is also a helpful tool for conducting searches across multiple issues.
1912 Wood County Atlas via the Library of Congress
Wood County District Public Library Digital Collection (formerly "Black Swamp Memory")
- Several (but not all) digitized Wood County city directories are available on this site
"The Story of the Great Black Swamp" (a documentary)
Wood County, Ohio Auditor--Property ownership information
Ohio Obituary Index--information about lives of property owners