Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

Chicago Manual of Style: Citing a Book

This guide provides basic information on the citation formats used in the Chicago Manual of Style. More detailed information is available in the print copies of the Chicago Manual of Style as referenced on the Home page of this LibGuide.

Basic Book Citation

FOOTNOTE or ENDNOTE

    1. Author's first name Author's last name, Title of the book (Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication), inclusive pages.

 

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Author's last name, Author's first name. Title of the book. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of publication.

 

NOTE: Some of the examples below may include additional information, such as editors, chapter or article titles, etc.

Example Book Citation: One Author

FOOTNOTE or ENDNOTE

    1. Susan Reynolds Williams, Alice Morse Earle and the Domestic History of Early America (Amherst: University of Massachusetts Press, 2013), 209-10.

 

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Williams, Susan Reynolds. Allice Morse Earle and the Domestic History of Early America. Amherst: University of Massachusetts Press, 2013.

Example Book Citation: Multiple Authors

FOOTNOTE or ENDNOTE

    1. Rudi Matthee, Willem Floor, and Patrick Clawson, The Monetary History of Iran: From the Safavids to the Qajars (London: I.B. Taurus, 2013), 45.

 

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Matthee, Rudi, Willem Floor, and Patrick Clawson. The Monetary History of Iran: From the Safavids to the Qajars. London: I B. Taurus, 2013.

 

Example Book Citation: Editor Instead of Author

FOOTNOTE or ENDNOTE

    27. Clair Parfait, Helene le Dantec-Lowry, and Claire Bourhis-Marotti, eds., Writing History from the Margins: African Americans and the Quest for Freedom (New York: Routledge, 2017), 134-56.

 

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Parfait, Claire, Helene le Dantec-Lowry, and Claire Bourhis-Marotti, eds. Writing History from the Margins: African Americans and the Quest for Freedom. New York: Routledge, 2017.

Example Book Citation: Edition Other Than the First

FOOTNOTE or ENDNOTE

David E. Wilkins and Heidi Kiwetinepinesiik Stark, American Indian Politics and the American Political System, 4th ed. (Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield, 2018).

 

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Wilkins, David E. and Heidi Kiiwetinepinesiik Stark. American Indian Politics and the American Political System. 4th ed. Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield, 2018.

Example Book Chapter in an Edited Book

FOOTNOTE or ENDNOTE

    14. Ciara Boylan, "Famine," in The Princeton History of Modern Ireland (Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2016), 403-24.

 

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Boylan, Ciara. "Famine." In The Princeton History of Modern Ireland, 403-424. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2016.

Electronic Version of a Print Book

FOOTNOTE or ENDNOTE

     35. Kama McLean, Revolutionary History of Interwar India: Violence, Image, Voice and Text (New York: Oxford University Press, 2017), doi:10.1093/acprof:oso/9780190217150.001.0001.

 

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Mclean, Kama. Revolutionary History of Interwar India: Violence, Image, Voice and Text. New York: Oxford University Press, 2017. doi:10.1093/acprof:oso/9780190217150.001.0001