Databases for Journal & Magazine Articles
If you're looking for more databases, we subscribe to approximately 300+ databases. You'll find them all linked from the All Databases page!
- Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary full-text database that includes scholarly journal articles on all subjects as well as magazines, books and book chapters, reports, conference proceedings, and more.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full TextBooks and articles covering research in television and film.
- Gender Studies DatabaseIndex to articles, books and book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations and more dealing with topics in women's studies, men's studies and sexual diversity issues.
- Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)Index to scholarly journal articles from international historical journals, covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
- Humanities International CompleteIndex to scholarly articles covering topics such as history, music, literature, philosophy and religion.
- International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full TextIndex to articles, books, book chapters and dissertations on theater, dance and performance from 1983 to the present. Some full text.
- International Political Science AbstractsIndexing and abstracts for thousands of leading political science journals published around the world.
- JSTOROver a thousand full-text scholarly journals and books covering all subjects in the humanities, sciences and social sciences. History, economics, art, literature, and mathematics are particularly strong. All journal titles are archived back to the first issue, many dating from the early 1800s.
- MLA International BibliographyA detailed index to journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertations published on subjects in modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
- Music IndexIndexing for international music periodicals, including scholarly journals, covering music history, theory and performance, ethnomusicology, education, popular music, and the music industry.
- PASCAL and FRANCISThis resource presents an archive of the PASCAL and FRANCIS bibliographic databases in exact, human and social sciences. It contains millions of multilingual, multidisciplinary citations and abstracts from scholarly journals in STEM subjects, the humanities, social sciences, and economics, and features multiple search modes, as well as the option to browse by keywords (vocabulary) or by thematics (classification).
- RILM Abstracts of Music LiteratureIndexing and abstracts for international scholarly writings on music, including articles, books, dissertations, Festschriften, films and videos, conference proceedings, and more.
- SocINDEX with Full TextIndex to scholarly publications in sociology, covering topics such as criminal justice, marriage and family, social work, substance abuse, and violence.
Summon
Summon is a new service that allows you to quickly search, discover and access reliable and credible library content in digital and print formats, audio and video, single articles and entire e-journals, and every format in between. Enter your terms in one search box, and quickly get credible results in one relevancy-ranked list.
Already have a citation?
If you already have a citation, try OhioLINK's Journal Article Lookup.
Peer Reviewed or Scholarly FAQ
What are scholarly or peer reviewed articles?
Professors often require students to find scholarly and peer reviewed articles. These items:
- generally focus on scholarly research
- are written by experts in the field or discipline
- are critically reviewed by other experts before publication
- contain cited references to the information sources used
How do I find scholarly or peer reviewed articles?
Many of the library's databases contain scholarly or peer reviewed material and allow you to limit your search to include only these articles in the results. Use the advanced search feature in a database to find the option to limit to this type of search.
Click here for more information on scholarly, popular and trade publications.