Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

ETHN 1200: Introduction to African American Studies, Fall 2017 (Edge): CAC

Hours

——Hours
Monday: 8AM-9PM
Tuesday - Friday: 8AM-5PM
*All services end 15 minutes prior to close.
  • —Feel free to stop by anytime the CAC is open or make an appointment.
—

How to request materials

1) Identify what materials you would like to look at by searching our website.
 
Suggested keyword search chains include:  African Americans -- newspapers; Black Student Union; African Americans -- Toledo;  African Americans -- History; African Americans -- Poetry; African Americans -- Authors
 
2) Visit the 5th fl of Jerome Library & complete a Researcher Application Form and call slip(s) for the items you would like to view.
  • Include the collection title/number and box number(s) OR call number
  • Limited to 3 items at a time

3) We will pull the materials and you may view them in the reading room. Our materials do not circulate, but there are also a number of great sources in the circulating collection that may be useful resources, as well. We've identified just a couple of them, and they're highlighted in purple on this page.

 

 

FILM & TELEVISION

FILM & TELEVISION (THEATER)

--MS 741 - Gish Film Theater Collection: Maidie Norman Papers

(copied from the finding aid) The Maidie Norman Record Group is comprised of three scrapbooks dating from 1913-1989. These scrapbooks largely document her acting career.  Maidie Norman was born in 1912 in Georgia. She spent most of her childhood and teen years in Lima, Ohio. She graduated from Bennett College in Greensboro, North Carolina, with a B.A. in Literature and Theater Arts. She also received a Master of Arts in Theater Arts from Columbia University.
...
For Maidie Norman, her most important role was that of educator. When she received the Achievement Award from Bennett College in 1953, she was already well known, not only as an actress, but as a spokesperson at colleges throughout the nation. She had an immense knowledge of Black theater and literature and was very instrumental in developing one of the first Afro-American culture classes at UCLA. She also served as artist-in-residence at Stanford University, where she was the first to direct plays by Black authors. She was awarded several honors and was known for the dignity and artistry she gave to all of her stage, movie and television roles as well as for her promotion of Afro-American arts and education. Maidie Norman died May 2, 1998.

--MMS 1074 - [Oral interview] / Carlton and Barbara Molette; interview conducted by Imelda Hunt,1989

--rare PS3552.A45 Z515 The devil finds work: an essay by James Baldwin [rare book];

--[Dissertation] A Thematic Study of Selected Plays produced by the Negro Ensemble/ by Edward Steven Hill

LITERATURE: MONOGRAPHS (BOOKS)

-- Hearings before the United States Commission on Civil Rights; Call Number: pollock E185.93.M6A57

--Freedom, When?; (Rare Books Collection; Call Number: rare E185.61.F19) by Jacob Cohen

--Malcolm X talks to young people; (Call Number:pollock E185.61 .X25 1969) by Malcolm X

-- Malcolm X Speaks; (Call Number:pollock E185.61.L58) by Malcolm X, edited by George Breitman 

--Where do we go from here: Chaos or community?; (Rare Books Collection; Call Number: rare E185.615.K5) byMartin Luther King Jr. 

-- The freedom reader; (Call Number: pollock JC599.U5N39) by Edwin S.Newman

 

Overview

The Center for Archival Collections is home to the University Archives of BGSU.  We're also the regional repository for local history and government resource materials (of northwest Ohio); Genealogy, Rare Books and Manuscripts, and the Historical Collections of the Great Lakes.

Newspapers

AFRICAN AMERICAN NEWSPAPERS

--The Toledo Journal (microform) (Cal Number: cac NEWSPAPERmf)

--Lima Post (microform) (Call Number: cac NEWSPAPERmf

--[Book] African American newspapers and periodicals: a national bibliography (Call Number: PN4882.5 .A474 1998) by James P. Danky 

Poetry [Rare Books Collection]

LITERATURE: POETRY [from our rare books collection]

--Avalanche: Poems (Call Number:scb PS3570.R63 A94 1996)  by Quincy Troupe

--Imagoes  (Rare Books Collection; (Call Number: rare PS3553.O47447I4 1983 by Wanda Coleman; 

--The Complete Poems of Paul Laurence Dunbar (Call Number: rare PS3553.O47447I4 1983by WD Howells; 

--The Complete Collected Poems of Maya Angelou (Call Number: scb PS3551.N464 A17 1994)  by Maya Angelou; 

--My house; poems (Call Number: scb PS3557.I55M9) by Nikki Giovanni

--Lost in the Bonewheel Factory: Poems  (Call Number:scb PS3561.O455 L67) by Yusef Komunyakaa;

-- Captivity (Call Number: scb PS3554.E73 C37 1989) by Toi Derricotte;

--Omeros  (Call Number:  scb PR9272.9.W3 O44 1990) by Derek Walcott and Collected Poems 1948-1984 (Call Number:  scb PR9272.9.W3A17 1986

 

Political Activism

--MS 1134 - Julius & Janice Bulley Papers (Bulley Peace Archive) 

(copied from the finding aid) The papers of the Julian and Janice Bulley Family consists of 6 linear ft. of minor correspondence, memo books, news clippings, subject files, and printed material related to family involvement in civil rights, social activist, and anti-war movements of the period of the late 1960s through the 1970s. 

CHILDREN'S BOOKS / CHILDREN [EDUCATION AND FAMILY LIFE]

--MS 377  Phillips Family Papers, 1844-1976

(copied from the finding aid) The correspondence, educational files, and scrapbooks of George A. Phillips, a black teacher and principal in Cincinnati, Ohio, covers a span of years form 1844 to 1976, with the bulk of the collection covering the years 1900 to 1976. The collection contains educational files and writings produced during his years of teaching and scrapbooks which he compiled and which detail his life and accomplishments. The correspondence primarily is with friends, family, and business acquaintances. Also included in this collection are thirty-five diaries which his wife Myrtle Phillips kept from 1932 to 1971.

-- [Book] A Sophisticated Cat: a gathering of stories, poems, and miscellaneous writings about cats by Joyce Carol Thomas 

Contact Information

For all requests for CAC materials, please visit us on the 5th fl. of the library. Additional contact info is below: 

Megan Goins-Diouf
Reference Archivist
goinsdm@bgsu.edu
419-372-2411

Digital Resources

BG News -  online and on microfilm in our reading room

Key Yearbook - online and in our reading room

 

Digital Databases

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998

Ethnic Newswatch​
 

Frederick Douglass' Paper
"This collection presents two publications by nineteenth-century American social reformer, orator, writer and statesman, Frederick Douglass: Frederick Douglass’ Paper (1851-1863 – complete through December 1855) and Douglass’ Monthly (January 1859 – August 1863)." -- from the UL Library website. 

JSTOR

 

Kanopy

"Streaming Service provides access to selected videos from major educational film producers and distributors." -- from the UL Library website.

ECONOMICS & EMPLOYMENT

--MS 203 - Ella P. Stewart Collection

(copied from the finding aid) The scrapbooks of Ella P. Stewart, one of the earliest African-American women pharmacists in the United States, span from the 1920s to the 1980s. The collection documents Mrs. Stewart's accomplishments, interests and honors as preserved by herself, thus giving insight into her life not only as a pharmacist in the city of Toledo, Ohio, but also as a business woman, civic reformer, goodwill ambassador, civil rights leader, and women's rights advocate. A two hour interview of Mrs. Stewart documenting her history is also included with the scrapbooks, as well as information on the National Association of Colored Women (NACW), the Pan-Pacific Southeast Asia Women's Association (PPSEWA) and the Ella P. Stewart School.

-- pOG 5035 - Toledo's Black Consumer Resource Guide [pamphlet]

--pOG 3094 - The Negro Professional Business and Tradesman's Directory of Cincinnati, Ohio [pamphlet]

--pollock E185.8.N65 - Organized Labor and the Negro [by] Herbert R. Northrup [pamphlet]

--pOG 3511 When the truth is told : a history of black women's culture and community in Indiana, 1875-1950 / by Darlene Clark Hine [pamphlet]

--pOG 1190 - List of Black servicemen compiled from the War Department collection of Revolutionary War records / compiled by Debra L. Newman [pamphlet]

--pOG 4747 Ohio Negroes in the Civil War compiled / Ohio State University Press for the Ohio Historical Society [pamphlet]

BGSU & LOCAL HISTORY

BGSU and LOCAL HISTORY

--UA 079 Black Student Union

--pUA 584 BGSU Black Student Union Newsletter

--pUA 342 Office of Student Development Brother and Sisters at Bowling Green

--pUA 338 Black African People's Association African Cultural Week

--pUA 341 Black Student Handbook

--pUA 339 Black African People's Association African Conference

--pUA 0340  Black Student Union Black Culture Week

--pOG 4925  Somebody, somewhere wants your photograph by Allen E. Cole

--pUA 343 Minority Student Directory

--pOG 3460 New Organization for the Visual Arts: Afrohio Art '78 Catalog

--pUA 0345  BGSU Office of Minority Affairs Newsletter

--pOG 1591 Standard Oil Company of Ohio, Literature in the Ohio Heritage