Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

ARTS 4012 (Wojtkiewicz): Art Journals & Databases

Library research for studio artists.

Art Journals at BGSU

 

African Arts Aperture cover Archives of American Art Art Bulletin

African Arts
Devoted to the study and discussion of traditional, contemporary, and popular African arts and expressive cultures. Full text online in MIT Press (2007-present) and in JSTOR (to 2008).

Aperture 
Devoted to photography as art. Contains illustrated profiles of photographers or thematic material. In print at Jerome Library (to present) and full text online in Art Full Text (EBSCO), 1997 to present.
Archives of American Art
Covers all aspects of American art history from the 18th century to the most recent past, with fresh perspectives on American cultural and social history. In print at Jerome Library (to present) and full text online in JSTOR.
Art Bulletin
Contains research articles on topics from all periods of art history. Full text online in Art Full Text (EBSCO).
Art in America Art in Print Art Journal cover Artforum
Art in America
Covers contemporary art worldwide. In print at Jerome Library 1997 to present or full text online in Academic Search Complete (EBSCO), 2002 to present.
Art in Print
Includes critical and scholarly writing about artist’s prints, both historical and contemporary, as well as print information, news, and events. Full text online.
Art Journal
Provides a ideas and opinions that focuses on critical and aesthetic issues in the visual arts of our times. Full text online in JSTOR, and full text online in Art Full Text (EBSCO).
Artforum
Covers the contemporary art world, with sections on architecture, music, advertising and reviews of contemporary exhibitions worldwide. In print at Jerome Library, 1996 to present.
ARTnews cover Bomb Cabinet Flash Art
ARTnews
Profiles of artists, surveys of gallery exhibits and international art news. In print at Jerome Library 1997 to present.
BOMB
Creates, disseminates, and preserves artist-generated content in all disciplines, from interviews to artists’ essays to new literature. Full text online in JSTOR (1981-2014) and Art Full Text (1999-present).
Cabinet
Contains articles, interviews, commissioned projects, and special sections on international art and culture. In print at Jerome Library (2012-present).
Flash Art
An international magazine of contemporary art. Full Text online in Art Full Text (2003-present).
   Mousse cover Parkett Visible Language
Frieze
A leading magazine of contemporary art and culture that includes essays, reviews and columns by forward-thinking contemporary writers, artists and curators. In print at Jerome Library (2013-present).
Mousse
A bimonthly magazine of contemporary art containing articles, interviews, conversations, and essays by international critics, visual artists, and curators. In print at Jerome Library (2013-present).
Parkett
Documents European and American contemporary art. Each issue covers several important artists and is produced in close collaboration with those artists. In print at Jerome Library (2012-present).
Visible Language
Independent, interdisciplinary, international scholarship in visible language - typefaces, signs, letterforms, word art and more. In print at Jerome Library (2004-present) and full text online in Art Full Text (EBSCO).

Getting full text

While databases like JSTOR contain full text, many other databases only contain descriptions of articles. Here's how to get to full text when it's not in the database you're searching:

Click on the "Find it!" button

If there is full text in another database, you will be taken to the article in that database.

If we have the journal in print, you will see the catalog record with its location.

If there is not a link to full text, there will be a link to Interlibrary Loan.

To place an interlibrary loan request, you must create an ILLiad account, which can be found under "Services" on the library's home page. ILL requests for articles and book chapters are often filled very quickly, because libraries usually scan the articles and deliver them to you online as a pdf.

Best bets for coverage of art journals

Search the full text of many journals at once for the most efficient way to find articles on a particular artist or subject. These three are the best to start with.

Also good for articles

These databases may lead you to additional sources.

Finding newspaper articles

Newspapers contain profiles, exhibition reviews, obituaries, and more. Pay close attention to coverage dates for online newspapers! To find a specific newspaper by title, use the "Journals by Title" link under "Search & Find" on the library's home page.

Online sources for biographical information

Art Journals Online