Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

ACS 6750/ENG 6750: Spring 2017 (Dr. Sheffer): CAC

Hours & Research Process

——Hours
Monday: 8AM-9PM
Tuesday - Friday: 8AM-5PM
—

Local Newspapers

Complete holdings here

BGSU University Archive Pamphlets

pUA 338 --Black African People's Association: African Culture Week

pUA 339 --Black African People's Association: Conference

pUA 340 --BSGU Black Student Union: Black Culture Week

pUA 341 --BGSU: Black Student Handbook

pUA 342 --BGSU Office of Student Development: Brothers and Sisters at Bowling Green

pUA 344 --BGSU Office of Student Development: Student development program

pUA 345 --BGSU Office of Minority Affairs Newsletter

pUA 584 --BGSU Black Student Union Newsletter

pUA 1126 -- Bowling Green State University and The Department of Ethnic Studies The Tenth Annual Ethnic Studies Conference Ethnic Studies: Crossroads to the 21st Century A Tribute to James Baldwin

Ohio Archive Pamphlets

pOG 1188 --Blacks in the State of Ohio, 1800-1976

pOG 1191 --List of Free Black Heads of Families in the First Census of the United States 1790

pOG 1591 --Standard Oil Company of Ohio: Literature in the Ohio Heritage Guide

pOG 1592 --Standard Oil Company of Ohio: Architecture in the Ohio Heritage Panel Guide

pOG 3460 --New Organization for the Visual Arts: Afrohio art '78 catalog

pOG 3511 --Hine, Darlene Clark: When the Truth is Told 

pOG 4747 --Ohio Negroes in the Civil War

pOG 4925 --Cole, Allen E. Somebody, Somewhere wants your photograph

pOG 5035 --Toledo's Black Consumer Resources guide 1997/98

Manuscript Collections

Below are some relevant collections:

American Civil Liberties Union, Northwest Ohio Chapter - MS 169
Minutes, correspondence, reports, newsletters, case files, and financial records. Access to confidential materials is restricted (10 linear ft.)

Julius & Janice Bulley Papers (Bulley Peace Archive) - MS 1134
Papers, 1951-1974
Correspondence, memo books, news clippings, subject files, and printed material related to family involvement in civil rights, social activist, and anti-war movements of the period of the late 1960s through the 1970s.

Delbert Leroy Latta Congressional Papers - MS 546
Papers, 1962-1988.
Correspondence, subject and committee files, clippings, press files, and publications, covering Latta's political career as U.S. Representative from the Ohio Fifth Congressional District. (265 linear ft.) *This collection is stored in Perrysburg, so please allow 2-3 days, if you would like to request these materials.

National Association for Women in Education - MS 218
1903-2000
First established as the National Association of Women Deans, this association's collection includes over 90 cubic feet of executive board proceedings, officer and central office correspondence, state association files, section and division files, symposium and workshop files, financial and membership records, Kathryn Sisson Phillips Trust records, convention and committee files, inter-association files, publications, and photographic and audio/visual materials. NAWE officially ended in 2000.

MMS 1218 - Martin Luther King reception, Maumee Ohio [Picture]

 

 

Rare Books

--Native Son by Richard Wright;  Rare PS 3545. R815 N 254 1940

--Nobody Knows my Name More Notes of a Native Son by James Baldwin; Rare E185.61.B197 1962

--Freedom When? by James Farmer;   Rare E185.61F19

--Equality and the Law by Louis A. Warsoff;   Pollock JK271W37

​--Malcolm X Speaks by Malcolm X;   Pollock E185.61L58

--Malcolm X talks to Young People by Malcolm X;   Pollock E185.61X25 1969

--SNCC: The New Abolitionists by Howard Zinn;  Pollock E 185.61.Z49

--Where do we Go from Here: Chaos or Community by Martin Luther King, Jr. ; Rare E185.615K5

--If Beale Street Could Talk by James Baldwin; Rare 3552.A45 IA 1974

--Just Above my Head by James Baldwin; Rare PS 3552.A45 J8X cop.3

--Heavy Daughter Blues Poems & Stories 1968-1986 by Wanda Coleman;  Spec Coll-B  PS 3553.047447 H4 1987

--Father Divine and the Struggle for Racial Equality by Robert Weisbrot; Pollock BX7350. A4W44 1983

--Hearings before the United States Commission on Civil Rights by the United States Commission on Civil Rights; Pollock E185.93.M6A57

--Deep in His Heart JR is Laughing at Us by Jane Candia Coleman;  Spec Coll-B PS 3553.047427 D44 1991

--The Gift of Black Folk: The Negroes in the Making of America by W.E.B. DuBois;  Rare E 185.D83

-- The Complete Collected Poems of Maya Angelou by Maya Angelou;  Spec Coll-B PS 3551. N464 A17 1994

--Down the Line: The Collected Writings of Bayard Rustin by Bayard Rustin;  Pollock E 185.61. R965 1971

--Go Tell It on the Mountain by James Baldwin; Rare PS 3552. A45 G57 1983

--Avalanche by Quincy Troupe;  Spec Coll-B PS 3570. R63 A94 1996 

--The Fire Next Time by James Baldwin;  Rare E. 185.61 B195 

--Black Boy by Richard Wright;  Rare PS 3545. R815Z9 

-- Black Artists in American; Spec Coll-A Oversize N 6538. N5 B53

 

Contact Info

—Contact: Megan Goins-Diouf, Reference Archivist
——Email: goinsdm@bgsu.edu
——Phone: 419-372-7916
Main phone: 419-372-2411

University Archives

--President Jerome's Papers:  Box 10 - Has materials that discuss the Kent State shootings (May 4, 1970). Additional documentation is also available in this CAC Digital Gallery. 

--BG News:  Microfilm. All issues available upon request.

--Key Yearbook:  digitized copies available through ScholarWorks​