Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

INST 2000: Intro to International Studies (Ha): Summon & Databases

Summon

Summon_big


Type in your keywords and get started!

Off-campus? Wireless? Log in now.

How to Pick a Database

The BGSU Libraries subscribes to more than 250 different databases, some of which are interdisciplinary, covering a wide variety of subjects, and some of which are for a specific discipline, like psychology or business. With so many databases to choose from, you need to make use of the subject categories and additional information  to help you select one or a few.

Visit our Ask Us! page to explore a variety of possibilities for getting help.

A Good Starting Point: Using Academic Search Complete to Locate Articles

A good place to start your research on almost any topic is Academic Search Complete. This is a large scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full-text database designed specifically for academic institutions. Containing full-text to thousands of scholarly publications, this collection provides coverage for nearly all academic areas of study—including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and more.

Connect: Academic Search Complete (an EBSCO database)

Need some help? Check out EBSCO's Basic Search Video Tutorial

Some Databases to Get Started!

Getting the Article: Find It!

Once you retrieve a list of articles on a given topic, you’re still not done. Browse through your list of results, read abstracts when they are available, and identify potential sources meeting your needs. 

After you identify a potential source, your next step is to find out whether or not the article is available full text or in print. To do this, look for information about full text availability or follow the Find It!link.

Find It! is a mechanism embedded in most databases to help users identify potential sources of full text and print options. For more details about full-text and print options at BGSU, visit Find It!: How to use Find It! in OhioLINK databases, BGSU databases, and Summon.

Don’t forget to ask for help from a librarian if you are having difficulty deciphering Find It! information.