Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

BGSU 1910 Are We What We Eat?: Books

This is a compilation of library and Internet resources designed to help students taking BGSU 1910 Are We What We Eat? with their class assignments.

A Few Useful Reference Books

Reference books are useful for identifying people, places, events, dates, etc.  Many articles in reference books include a bibliography of recommended sources.  The BGSU Libraries own hundreds of history reference books.  Here is a a very small sample of the reference books that may be useful for this class.

      Searching for E-Books

The library provides access to more than 55,000 books from a variety of sources.  For information about ebooks, see the online guide to Ebooks.

    Start Here To Search for Books

Start with these resources to search for books about food culture, food heritage or cookbooks.

HathiTrust Digital Library

The HathiTrust Digital Library provides access to a database of digitized books and other materials.  You can search the catalog, search full text, or browse the public collections.  Note that not all books are available full text.

To find only those books that are available full text, you can search the catalog on the main search page and click on the box next to "Full View Only." 

To do a more complex search, click on the Advanced Catalog Search link.  You can also select "Full View Only" on this page.

 

There are many cookbooks in this database. Use the search terms cookbook or cookery in the catalog to find them. To find French cookbooks, search for cookbook and french or cookery, french.