Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

SPAN 4890/5820: Latin American Film & Literature on War: Finding Library Resources

Core Database: Literary Resource Center (Gale)

Searches information about authors and their works. Includes biographies, portraits, critical essays, excepts of literary criticism, summaries of works, and full-text journal articles. 

HIGHLIGHT: Use this resource to find background information before you begin your research.  You will find information about some Latin American writers. Some information may be in Spanish, though the content in this database is primarily in English. To find articles written in Spanish, use the advanced search feature and select Spanish from the drop-down list of languages.

 
 

Core Datatabase: MLA International Bibliography

MLA indexes thousands of books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics every year, including works about literature transmitted orally, in print, or in audiovisual media and about human language. Coverage 1926 to present.

HIGHLIGHT: This database, considered to be the most comprehensive literature database, indexes materials written in Spanish but the indexing is in English.  Search this database using English, though titles of works will be in Spanish. Additionally, this database will provide links to the full-text resources available in JSTOR, Project Muse, and other full-text resources.

 
 

Additional Databases

You may also find these databases helpful for your project:

Finding Books

For your project, you may want to use articles because they tend to be shorter and more focused than a book.  However, books can be a great source of background information, especially for historical context.

Check out one of these featured resources for your project:

 


 

Search the BGSU Libraries Catalog or the OhioLINK Central Catalog for additional resources.

Questions? Ask a librarian

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.