Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

Hands-on History: Primary Sources in University Libraries' Special Collections: Primary Sources in the Classroom

Schedule a Session

If you'd like to schedule a session with your class to discuss using primary sources with an archivist or librarian, please contact the appropriate collection(s).

Browne Popular Culture Library

Center for Archival Collections

Curriculum Resource Center

Music Library and Bill Schurk Sound Archives

Depending on the class size and type of materials you're interested in incorporating into your class, we can visit you in your usual classroom or host you at the library.

Create an Assignment

If you want to integrate primary sources into your syllabus but aren't sure how to start, we're happy to collaborate with you to develop an assignment that will achieve your desired learning outcomes and make the most of our collections.

Examples of past collaborations include:

Creating digital exhibits using primary source materials from library collections

Scavenger hunts

Take a Tour

Aren't planning a specific assignment but want to make sure your students know where a collection is located and how a special collection works? Schedule a tour of one or more of our collections. This can allow students to become more familiar with the process and more comfortable visiting for future research for your class or others.

Digital Resources

If you want to integrate some digital primary sources into your course but don't have time to schedule a full instruction session or tour for your class or are looking for materials on a topic that's not well represented in our local collections, try the following online resources: