Skip to main content
HIST 4390: United States and the World: The Cold War Era
Search this Guide
HIST 4390: United States and the World: The Cold War Era: Internet
This guide is a compilation of library and Internet resources that should be useful for researching the Cold War Era.
Archives at BGSU
Archives at Other Institutions
Articles (Secondary Sources)
Books (Secondary Sources)
Public Opinion Polls
U.S. Government Information
U.S. State Department
Web Sites That Links To Many Sources
Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy
Cold War Era (History Teacher.net)
Historical Text Archive: Foreign Policy
Internet Modern History Sourcebook: The Cold War
Military Resources: The Cold War (National Archives)
National Security Archive
National Security Archive: Electronic Briefing Books
Internet Sites That May Be Useful
Arctic Sovereignty and the Cold War
Atomic Fears (Cold War letters)
Avalon Project: The Cold War
Bay of Pigs (U.S. CIA)
Bracero History Archive
Calm Voice in a Strident World: Senator J. W. Fulbright Speaks
Central Foreign Policy Files, 1973-1977 (National Archives)
Searchable telegrams pertaining to U.S. foreign policy, created 1973-1977.
Cold War: CNN.com Documents
Cold War International History Project
Cold War Museum
Cold War Origins
Cold War Years: Archival Materials (U.S. Army Center for Military History)
Cuban History: Missile Crisis
Cuban Missile Crisis (Mt. Holyoke)
Cuban Missile Crisis (National Security Agency)
Cuban Missile Crisis (The Avalon Project, Yale University)
Cuban Missile Crisis (Washington Post Digital Archive)
Cuban Missile Crisis (Wilson Center Digital Archive)
Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962: The 40th Anniversary
Cuban Missile Crisis: CIA Documents on the Cuban Missile Crisis
Cuban Missile Crisis: Original Historical Documents (Harvard Kennedy School)
Cuban Missile Crisis: World on the Brink: John F. Kennedy and the Cuban Missile Crisis: Thirteen Days in October 1962 (Kennedy Presidential Library)
Dean Peter Krogh Foreign Affairs Digital Archives
Episodes from TV shows moderated by Dean Krogh 1981-2005. Includes interviews with many people, such as Henry Kissinger, Madeleine Albright, James R. Schlesinger, etc.
Documents Relating to American Foreign Policy -- NATO
Dwight D. Eisenhower Presidential Library: Online Documents
Ethnic Groups and American Foreign Policy Project, 1974-1986
Francis Gary Powers: U-2 Spy Pilot Shot Down by the Soviets (U.S. CIA)
Frontline Diplomacy: The Foreign Affairs Oral History Collection of the Association for Diplomatic Studies and Training
Harvard Project on the Soviet Social System Online
Ideological Foundations of the Cold War (Harry S Truman Library & Museum)
John F. Kennedy Presidential Library Digital Collections
Limited Test Ban Treaty (National Security Archive)
National Security Council, Truman Administration
Negroponte File: Negroponte's Chron File from Tenure in Honduras
Nixon Administration and the Indian Nuclear Program, 1972-1974
Parallel History Project on Cooperative Security (Cold War)
Digitized reports and documents of the Warsaw Pact and NATO, and other relevant resources
Reagan-Gorbachev Summit Documents (Margaret Thatcher Foundation)
Some Key Documents on Nuclear Policy Issues: 1945-1990
U.S. - Japan Relations Declassified
Underwater Cuban Missile Crisis: Soviet Submarines and the Risk of Nuclear War
United Nations Diplomatic Conferences
United States, China, and the Bomb (National Security Archive)
United States and the Two Koreas, Part II: 1969-2010
Visions of Freedom: New Documents from the Closed Cuban Archives
World on the Brink: John F. Kennedy and the Cuban Missile Crisis: Thirteen Days in October 1962
Secondary Sources >>
Jan 18, 2018 9:17 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
United States history
Use this guide in Canvas
Linking from a page
Either add a new page, or edit an existing page.
Enter and then select the text that will be linked.
“Link to URL” button in toolbar.
Paste the following URL into the dialog, and “Insert Link”:
Make sure you save your changes.
Embedding in a module
Either create or choose a module, and press the
“Add Content” button next to it.
Choose “External URL” from the “Add to Test Module” dropdown.
Paste the following URL into the “URL” field:
Specify the “Page Name”.
Press the “Add Item” button.
Remember to publish your changes.