Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

Communication Sciences and Disorders: Theses & Dissertations

This guide compiles library and Internet resources that may be useful for researching in communication sciences and disorders.

BGSU Theses and Dissertations

BGSU theses and dissertations are available either in print or electronically, depending on when they were submitted.

Prior to Fall 2005: 

The Jerome Library has print copies of most masters theses and doctoral dissertations granted by Bowling Green State University prior to September 2005. They are searchable in the BGSU Libraries Catalog by keyword, author, and title. Print versions of many theses and dissertations are shelved in the main circulating collection on the first floor of Jerome Library, with the exception of those granted by the College of Musical Arts, which are housed on the third floor in the Music Library and Sound Recordings Archive. Microfilm copies are available on the fifth floor of Jerome Library in the Center for Archival Collections.

Fall 2005 and After:

The Graduate Council approved the implementation of electronic submission of theses and dissertations beginning with Fall 2005 for all graduate programs, with the exception of theses written in the MFA program in Creative Writing. To find theses and dissertations submitted after Fall 2005, visit OhioLINK's Electronic Theses and Dissertations Center (ETD). The ETD Center is a free, online database of Ohio's masters theses and doctoral dissertations from participating OhioLINK member schools. It contains the abstract for all included theses and dissertations. The full-text is also available if it was submitted. Researchers can search the database using basic keyword searching. Authors, university affiliation, and abstracts are all indexed.

Print Copies of Theses and Dissertations

BGSU Libraries Catalog: The Jerome Library owns print and microfilm copies of all of the dissertations produced at BGSU prior to Fall 2005 and a small number of selected titles from other institutions. They can be located in the catalog using standard author, title, and keyword searching.

OhioLINK Catalog: You can request a dissertation available at another institution using the patron request feature. It will be delivered free of charge within 2-4 business days.

Interlibrary Loan: If no OhioLINK institution owns the dissertation, you may make a request using Interlibrary Loan. To make a request, use ILLiad. First time users will need to create a username and password. The Interlibrary Loan office will try to locate a copy to borrow (minimum 2 weeks).

Electronic Copies of Theses and Dissertations in Databases