About this Guide
This guide is designed to assist you with Fire Administration library and professional resources.
Search the BGSU Catalog for books, music, DVDs, and more
Vocational and Career Collection
Includes full text coverage of 350 trade and industry periodicals such as Fire Management Today, Review of Public Personnel Administration, and Journal of Fire Sciences.
Emergency/Disaster/First Responders & Environmental Health
What is a scholarly journal?
A scholarly journal contains original research and other supporting material, usually written for scholars by scholars in a particular subject or discipline.
Fire Chief (search 2005-present)
Articles to assist fire chiefs of city, country and district fire departments -- both volunteer and paid.
Fire Chief (browse/search 2003-2013)
Articles to assist fire chiefs of city, country and district fire departments -- both volunteer and paid.
Fire Engineering (browse/search 1995-present)
Articles, news, and information on products and services for firefighters.
Firehouse (search 2004-present)
The firefighter's source for breaking news and information on firefighting, training, jobs, technical rescue and more.
Fire Management Today (browse/search 2000-present)
Founded in 1936, Fire Management Today has served the wildland fire community for more than 70 years as a clearinghouse for new techniques, technologies, and ideas. Also available on the Web: http://www.fs.fed.us/fire/fmt/
Leadership Excellence (browse/search 1997-present)
Centrally concerned with issues & ideas relating to personal development, managerial effectiveness & personal productivity.
What is a trade journal?
A trade journal is a periodical containing news and items of interest concerning a particularly job, trade, or industry.
National Fire Academy
As an entity of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency, the mission of the U.S. Fire Administration is to provide national leadership to foster a solid foundation for our fire and emergency services stakeholders in prevention, preparedness and resp
International Public Safety Association
Established in July 2014 in the State of Arizona, the International Public Safety Association, a 501(c)3 non-profit public safety association, represents all public safety verticals: law enforcement, fire service, EMS, telecommunications, public works (water, sanitation, transportation), public health, hospitals, security, private sector, and emergency management.
United States Fire Administration
As an entity of the Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency, the mission of the USFA is to provide national leadership to foster a solid foundation for our fire and emergency services stakeholders in prevention, preparedness, and response.
Federal Aviation Administration
Our continuing mission is to provide the safest, most efficient aerospace system in the world.
National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH)
The National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) is the U.S. federal agency that conducts research and makes recommendations to prevent worker injury and illness.
National Research Council
As the operating arm of the National Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Engineering, the National Research Council's mission is to improve government decision making and public policy, increase public understanding, and promote the acquisition and dissemination of knowledge in matters involving science, engineering, technology, and health. Our independent, expert reports and other scientific activities inform policies and actions that have the power to improve the lives of people in the U.S. and around the world.
The Research Council performs its studies and workshops through six major divisions; Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education, Earth and Life Studies, Engineering and Physical Sciences, Policy and Global Affairs, Transportation Research Board, and the Gulf Research Program.
Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)
FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from and mitigate all hazards.
United States Geological Survey (USGS)
The USGS is a science organization that provides impartial information on the health of our ecosystems and environment, the natural hazards that threaten us, the natural resources we rely on, the impacts of climate and land-use change, and the core science systems that help us provide timely, relevant, and useable information.
Civil Aviation Authority (U.K.)
The Civil Aviation Authority (CAA), which is a public corporation, was established by Parliament in 1972 as an independent specialist aviation regulator and provider of air traffic services (the air traffic control body NATS was separated from the CAA in the late 1990s and became a public / private partnership organisation in 2001).
The UK Government requires that the CAA’s costs are met entirely from its charges on those whom it regulates. Unlike many other countries, there is no direct Government funding of the CAA’s work.
European Aviation Safety Agency
The European Aviation Safety Agency is the centrepiece of the European Union’s aviation safety system comprised of the Agency, the European Commission and the National Aviation Authorities (NAAs).
Air transport is one of the safest forms of travel. As air traffic continues to grow, a common endeavour is needed at the European level to keep air transport safe and sustainable. The Agency develops common safety and environmental rules. It monitors the implementation of standards through inspections in the Member States and provides the necessary technical expertise and training to the system. The Agency works hand in hand with NAAs, which have their own role to play in the EU system.
Center for Public Safety Excellence (CPSE)
Since 1997, the Center for Public Safety Excellence, Inc. (CPSE) has helped local public safety agencies around the world streamline and improve the services they provide their communities. Through its individual commissions, CPSE provides a host of programs including accreditation for fire and emergency service agencies and professional designations for fire and emergency service officers at all levels. In addition to the fire service accreditation and credentialing programs, CPSE offers more direct support and assistance to emergency services agencies seeking to conform to CPSE performance and competency measures with its Technical Advisor Program. In cooperation with fire sprinkler industry associations, CPSE administers the Residential Fire Sprinkler Contractor.
International Association of Fire Chiefs (IAFC)
The International Association of Fire Chiefs represents the leadership of firefighters and emergency responders worldwide; our members are the world's leading experts in firefighting, emergency medical services, terrorism response, hazardous materials spills, natural disasters, search and rescue, and public safety policy. Since 1873, the IAFC has provided a forum for fire and emergency service leaders to exchange ideas, develop professionally and uncover the latest products and services available to first responders.
International City-County Manager's Association (ICMA)
ICMA, the International City/County Management Association, advances professional local government worldwide. The organization’s mission is to create excellence in local governance by developing and fostering professional management to build better communities.
ICMA identifies leading practices to address the needs of local governments and professionals serving communities globally. We provide services, research, publications, data and information, peer and results-oriented assistance, and training and professional development to thousands of city, town, and county leaders and other individuals and organizations throughout the world. The management decisions made by ICMA's members affect millions of people living in thousands of communities, ranging in size from small towns to large metropolitan areas.
International Civic Aviation Organization
The International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) is a UN specialized agency, created in 1944 upon the signing of the Convention on International Civil Aviation (Chicago Convention).
ICAO works with the Convention’s 191 Signatory States and global industry and aviation organizations to develop international Standards and Recommended Practices (SARPs) which are then used by States when they develop their legally-binding national civil aviation regulations.
There are currently over 10,000 SARPs reflected in the 19 Annexes to the Chicago Convention which ICAO oversees, and it is through these SARPs and ICAO’s complementary policy, auditing and capacity-building efforts that today’s global air transport network is able to operate over 100,000 daily flights, safely, efficiently and securely in every region of the world.
International Fire Service Training Association (IFSTA)
The International Fire Service Training Association (IFSTA) was established in 1934. The mission of IFSTA is to identify areas of need for training materials and foster the development and validation of training materials for the fire service and related areas. IFSTA is an association of fire service personnel who are dedicated to upgrading fire fighting techniques and safety through training.
International Women in Fire & Emergency Services
An interactive non-profit network, iWomen provides education, support and advocacy for fire service women. The network is linked and strengthened by its respected publications, which carry informative articles on current issues from promotion and career development to recruitment programs and reproductive safety policies. The newsletter often includes job announcements that link fire departments seeking female candidates with women seeking employment. We also offer a videotape and brochures to help fire departments recruit female firefighter applicants, and information packets on issues of particular relevance to women.
National Fallen Firefighters Foundation
Congress created the National Fallen Firefighters Foundation to lead a nationwide effort to honor America's fallen firefighters. Since 1992, the non-profit Foundation has developed and expanded programs that fulfill that mandate. Our mission is to honor and remember America's fallen fire heroes and to provide resources to assist their survivors in rebuilding their lives and work within the Fire Service Community to reduce firefighter deaths.
National Fire Fighting Near-Miss Reporting System
The Near Miss Reporting System is an integrated learning environment that assists fire department personnel in turning shared lessons learned into actions that are applied. Through the program, fire fighters and EMS personnel can share their near miss experiences in the field in a voluntary, confidential, non-punitive and secure way. They are also able to find training resources, gleaned from the collected real-world experiences, that help responders apply the lessons learned and leading safety practices in their own departments.
International Association of Black Professional Firefighters
The International Association of Black Professional Firefighters mission is to create a liaison between our Black Brothers and Sisters throughout the globe, to collect and evaluate data on all deleterious conditions incumbent in all areas where minorities exist, and to compile information concerning the injustices that exist in the application of working conditions in the Fire Service, and implement action to correct them. To promote interracial progress throughout the Fire Service, and to see that competent Blacks are recruited and employed as fire fighters, where ever they reside, and to aid in motivating our Black Brothers and Sisters to seek advancement to elevated ranks throughout the Fire Service.
International Association of Fire Fighters
The IAFF is the driving force behind nearly every advance in the fire and emergency services in the 21st century. With headquarters in Washington, DC, and Ottawa, Ontario, the IAFF represents more than 300,000 full-time professional fire fighters and paramedics in more than 3,100 affiliates. IAFF members protect more than 85 percent of the population in communities throughout the United States and Canada. The IAFF is also one of the most active lobbying organizations in Washington, DC. The IAFF Political Action Committee, FIREPAC, is among the top 25 federal PACs among the more than 4,000 in the country.
National Association of Hispanic Firefighters
The National Association of Hispanic Firefighters is dedicated to promoting Firefighters through recruitment, professional development, community advocacy and building fellowship among all Firefighters.
National Fire Protection Association (NFPA)
The mission of the international nonprofit NFPA, established in 1896, is to reduce the worldwide burden of fire and other hazards on the quality of life by providing and advocating consensus codes and standards, research, training, and education.
The world's leading advocate of fire prevention and an authoritative source on public safety, NFPA develops, publishes, and disseminates more than 300 consensus codes and standards intended to minimize the possibility and effects of fire and other risks
National Volunteer Fire Council
The National Volunteer Fire Council (NVFC) is the leading nonprofit membership association representing the interests of the volunteer fire, EMS, and rescue services. The NVFC serves as the voice of the volunteer in the national arena and provides invaluable tools, resources, programs, and advocacy for first responders across the nation
National Wildfire Suppression Association
The primary mission of NWSA is to support and assist its members so they can be successful in their areas of contracting expertise. NWSA also strives to achieve national recognition as a professional organization, or cooperator, whose membership provides personnel and equipment that meets or exceeds national standard.
Create public awareness of pre-suppression and suppression contractors and their vital link to governmental agencies.
Work toward a solution to solve common problems within the industry. Share technology.
Raise the standards and practices of our industry by requiring that our members comply with Government standards.
Generate more business opportunities.
Honor both Federal and State procurement.
Honor both Federal and State dispatch procedures.
Pro Board Accreditation
The purpose of the Pro Board is to establish an internationally recognized means of acknowledging professional achievement in the fire service and related fields. The accreditation of organizations that certify uniform members of public fire departments, both career and volunteer, is the primary goal. However, other organizations with fire protection interests may also be considered for participation. Accreditation is generally provided at the State or Provincial level to the empowered certifying authority of that jurisdiction.