Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

Business to Business Marketing: Citing in MLA Style

For class assignments requiring company, industry, and market share information.

In-text Citations

Click here to view in-text citation examples from Purdue Library's OWL system.

Here is the basic rule for citing digital sources from a library database  

And here is an example for the following resource whose authorship is credited to a corporation:

 RESOURCE LIST

MarketLine. “Microsoft Corporation Company Profile”. 31 July 2013. Business Source Complete. Web.

            18 Aug. 2013.

IN TEXT CITATION (Marketline 2013)

MLA LibGuide

Consult our library's detailed  MLA LibGuide. It includes quizzes to test your knowledge of MLA style.

Double Check Suggested Citations

Citations furnished by EBSCO databases are a great time saver. This icon  in the right sidebar will link to a choice of citation styles for your article or report. EBSCO reminds you to always check for accuracy and completeness, however. As the example below shows, citations for company profiles in Business Source Complete indicate no date.

But the cover page of these reports DOES have a date, which could be significant. Here's the date from the title page of the report PULICATION DATE: 13 Feb

Please note: Use of material that is too old may not be accepted by your professor.

EXAMPLE: (Modern Language Assoc.)
Works Cited

"Harley-Davidson, Inc." (n.d.): MarketLine/Medtrack Company Profiles. Web. 24 Mar. 2015.

 

  How Do I Cite My Sources?

How do I cite items from a print-based source vs. a digital copy from a research database using MLA?

  

ARTICLES: (in-print sources)

Le Vine, Steve. “Pipeline Wars.” Business Week 25 Aug. 2008: 15-19. Print. 

ARTICLES FROM A LIBRARY DATABASE:  (Full text sources)

Journal article:

Messner, Michael.  “Barbie Girls versus Sea Monsters: Children Constructing Gender.”  Gender and

            Society  14.6 (2000): 765-84.   JSTOR. Web.18 May 2004. 

Magazine article:

Grossman, Jeff.  “Maintain Your Brain.”  Psychology Today May-June 2004: 26.  Academic Search

            Complete.  Web.18 May 2004. 

 REPORTS OR BOOK SECTIONS FROM A LIBRARY DATABASE (full text sources)

Give individual or corporate author if listed. Then the report title. Then the publication date if listed (n.d. if none is given).  

Corporate author:

MarketLine. “Microsoft Corporation Company Profile”. 4 Sept. 2015. Business Source Complete. Web.

            20 Nov. 2015. 

No author listed

“Microsoft Corporation”. Hoover’s Company Records – In-Depth Records. 12 Aug. 2008. Lexis Nexis

            Academic. Web. 18 Aug. 2008. 

No author listed  No publication date given

“Microsoft Corporation”. America’s Corporate Finance Directory. n.d. Lexis Nexis Academic. Web. 18

             Aug. 2008. 

Industry report from IBISWorld

Basic format:

Author/Compiler of Report. “Company Profile Title.” Database Name. Date Published. Web. Date Viewed.

Example:

Brennan, Andy. "IBISWorld Industry Report 48533: Taxi & Limousine Services in the US." IBISWorld. Feb. 2014. Web. 5 June 2014.

 

Mintel Reports

Nanninga, Margie.  “Men’s Personal Care – US”.  Mintel.  Oct. 2015.  Web.  7 April 2016.

 

OTHER WEB SITES

"Africa Top 10 Internet Countries."  Table. Internet World Stats. Miniwatts Marketing Group,  March 2009. Web. 18

            June  2009. 

Please note: The url (Internet address) is not needed when citing library databases in your list of sources in MLA style. Many of your instructors will require the url for a non-library web site, although it is optional in the latest MLA guidelines.  When in doubt, make it easy for your teacher to see where you got the information. Example from the Purdue OWL website shown below:

Aristotle. Poetics. Trans. S. H. Butcher. The Internet Classics Archive. Web Atomic and Massachusetts Institute of Technology,

       13 Sept. 2007. Web. 4 Nov. 2008. ‹http://classics.mit.edu/›.

 

For more complete guides to citing your sources, please see one of the following:

MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing 3rd Edition REF PN147 .G444 2008

Citation generators work too; but be sure to give them a quick check for completeness and accuracy. Example:   Noodlebib This screenshot suggests how Noodlebib leads you through a sequence of choices that produces a correct citation. Easybib is another such tool familiar to many.

 

Please note: The Citations and Bibliography tools in MS Word 2007 will not produce citations or bibliographies that are correct according to the latest (2008) MLA style guidelines.