Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

Pulp Magazines in the BPCL: Select Bibliography

Books about Pulp Art

History and Criticism, Including Works on Pulp Art

Aldiss, Brian W.
1973. Billion Year Spree: The True History of Science Fiction.
Ash, Brian (ed.)
1977. The Visual Encyclopedia of Science Fiction.
Ashley, Michael (ed.)
1974-1976. The History of the Science Fiction Magazine, 3 vols.
____.
2000. The Time Machines: the Story of the Science-Fiction Pulp Magazine from the Beginning to 1950.
Brians, Paul.
1987. Nuclear Holocausts: Atomic War in Fiction, 1895-1984.
Blieler, Evrett.
1951 & 1956. The Best Science Fiction Stories and Novels.
Carr, Nick.
1992. The Other Detective: Pulp Heroes.
____.
1989. The Western Pulp Hero.
Carter, Paul A.
1977. The Creation of Tomorrow: Fifty Years of Magazine Science Fiction.
Cave, Hugh B.
1994. Magazines I Remember: Some Pulps, Their Editors, and What it Was Like to Write for Them.
Cawelti, John G.
1999. The Six-Gun Mystique Sequel.
Dinan, John A.
2003. The Pulp Western: A Popular History of the Western Fiction Magazine in America.
Elliot, Jeffrey M.
1983. Pulp Voices : Interviews with Pulp Magazine Writers and Editors.
Frank, Jane.
1999. The Frank Collection: A Showcase of the World's Finest Fantastic Art.
Gruber, Frank.
1967. The Pulp Jungle.
Gunn, James E.
1975. Alternate Worlds: The Illustrated History of Science Fiction.
Haining, Peter.
1976. Terror! A History of Horror Illustrations from the Pulp Magazines.
____.
1985. A Pictorial History of Horror Stories.
____.
2001. The Classic Era of American Pulp Magazines.
Hoppenstand, Gary C.
1987. In Search of the Paper Tiger: A Sociological Perspective of Myth, Formula and the Mystery Genre in the Entertainment Print Mass Medium.
____.
1985. More Tales of Defective Detective in the Pulps.
Jones, Robert Kenneth.
1978. The Shudder Pulps: A History of the Weird Menace Magazines of the 1930s.
Kyle, David.
1976. A Pictorial History of Science Fiction.
____.
1977. The Illustrated Book of Science Fiction Ideas and Dreams.
Lesser, Robert.
1997. Pulp Art: Original Cover Paintings for the Great American Pulp Magazines.
____.
1998. American Nightmare Art: Pulp Magazine Cover Paintings From the Nineteen Thirties and Forties.
Lundwall, Sam J.
1978. Science Fiction: An Illustrated History.
Murray, Will.
1980. The Duende History of The Shadow Magazine.
Nolan, William F.
1987. The Black Mask Boys: Masters in the Hard-Boiled School of Detective Fiction.
Parente, Audrey.
1988. Pulp Man's Odyssey: The Hugh B. Cave Story.
Reynolds, Quentin.
1955. The Fiction Factory or from Pulp Row to Quality Street: The Story of 100 Years of Publishing at Street & Smith.
Roberts, Tom.
1997. Tom Lovell: A Memorial.
Robinson, Frank, and Lawrence Davidson.
1998. Pulp Culture: The Art of Fiction Magazines.
Sadoul, Jacques.
1975. 2000 A.D.: Illustrations from the Golden Age of Science Fiction Pulps.
Sampson, Robert.
1983-1987. Yesterday's Faces: A Study of Series Characters in the Early Pulp Magazines, 4 vols.
Server, Lee.
1993. Danger is my Business: An Illustrated History of the Fabulous Pulp Magazines.
____.
2002. Encyclopedia of Pulp Fiction Writers.
Siegel, Jeff.
1993. The American Detective: An Illustrated History.
Stryker, Susan.
2001. Queer Pulp: Perverted Passions From the Golden Age of the Paperback.
VanHise, James.
1994. Pulp Heroes of the Thirties.
Warner, Harry, Jr.
1969. All Our Yesterdays: An Informal History of Science Fiction Fandom in the Forties.
Weinberg, Robert.
1977. The "Weird Tales" Story.

Books about Pulps and Pulp Writers

Bibliography

The following sources are available here at BGSU, most in the Browne Popular Culture Library. Click on the linked title to determine location.

Albert, Walter.
1985. Detective and Mystery Fiction: an International Bibliography of Secondary Sources.
Ash, Brian.
1976. Who's Who in Science Fiction.
Ashley, Mike with Terry Jeeves
1981. The Complete Index to Astounding/Analog.
Autralian Science Fiction Society
1977. Index to British Science Fiction Magazines, 1934-1953, 2 vols.
Barron, Neil (ed.)
1987. Anatomy of Wonder: A Critical Guide to Science Fiction.
Bleiler, Everett F.
1983. The Guide to Supernatural Fiction.
____.
1972. The Checklist of Fantastic Literature, a Bibliography of Fantasy, Weird, and Science Fiction Books Published in the English Language.
____.
1978. The Checklist of Science-Fiction and Supernatural Fiction.
Clareson, Thomas.
1984. Science Fiction in America, 1870s-1930s: an Annotated Bibliography of Primary Sources.
Cockcroft, TGL.
1964. Index to the Weird Fiction Magazines: Index by Author.
Cole, Walter.
1964. A Checklist of Science Fiction Anthologies.
Cook, Michael L.
1982. Monthly Murders: A Checklist and Chronological Listing of Fiction in the Digest-Size Mystery Magazines in the United States and England.
____.
1983. Mystery, Detective, and Espionage Magazines.
____.
1983. Dime Novel Roundup: Annotated Index, 1931-1981.
Cook, Michael L. and Stephen T. Miller
1988. Mystery, Detective, and Espionage Fiction: A Checklist of Fiction in U.S. Pulp Magazines, 1915-1974, 2 vols.
Cottrill, Tim.
1986. Science Fiction and Fantasy Series and Sequels: A Bibliography.
____.
2001. Bookery Fantasy's Ultimate Guide to the Pulps and Related Magazines.
Day, Bradford M. (ed.)
1961. The Complete Checklist of Science Fiction Magazines.
____.
1975. The Checklist of Fantastic Literature in Paperbound Books.
Day, Donald B. (comp.)
1952. Index to the Science Fiction Magazines, 1926-1950.
DeAndrea, William.
1994. Encyclopedia Mysteriosa: a Comprehensive Guide to the Art of Detection in Print, Film, Radio, and Television.
Eisgruber, Frank.
1985. Gangland's Doom: The Shadow of the Pulp.
Ellis, Doug, John Locke, and John Gunnison.
2000. The Adventure House Guide to the Pulps.
Gallagher, Edward.
1985. The Annotated Guide to Fantastic Adventures.
Gammell, Leon L.
1986. The Annotated Guide to Startling Stories.
Greenslade, Lyndsey (comp.)
1991. Boardman Crime and Science Fiction, 1942-1957: A Checklist of the First Editions.
Hagemann, E.R. (comp. & ed.)
1982. A Comprehensive Index to Black Mask, 1920-1951: With Brief Annotations, Preface and Editorial Apparatus.
Hall, Hal. W. (comp.)
1984. The Science Fiction Magazines: A Bibliographical Checklist of title and Issues Through 1982.
Hall, Hal W. (ed.)
1987. Science fiction and Fantasy Reference Index, 1878-1985, 2 vols.
Hoffman, Stuart (ed.)
1955. An Index to Unknown and Unknown Worlds.
Jaffrey, Sheldon with Fred Cook.
1985. The Collector's Index to Weird Tales.
Locke, John.
1987. The Pulp Magazine Quick Reference Guide.
Metcalf, Norman (comp.)
1968. The Index of Science Fiction Magazines, 1951-1965.
Mundell, E.H.
1968. A List of the Original Appearances of Dashiell Hammett's Magazine Work.
New England Science Fiction Association [NESFA] (comp.)
1971. Index to the Science Fiction Magazines, 1966-1970.
Nicholls, Peter (ed.)
1979. The Science Fiction Encyclopedia.
Okada, Masaya (comp.)
1973. Illustrated Index to Air Wonder Stories, Vol. 1 No. 1, July 1929 - Vol. 1 No. 11, May 1930.
Parnell, Frank H. with Mike Ashley
1985. Monthly Terrors: An Index to the Weird Fantasy Magazines Published in the United States and Great Britain.
Reilly, John M. (ed.)
1985. Twentieth-Century Crime and Mystery Writers. (Second Edition.)
Strauss, Erwin S.
1965. The MIT Science Fiction Society's Index to the S-F Magazines, 1951-1965.
Tuck, Donald H. (comp.)
1974. The encyclopedia of science fiction and fantasy through 1968: a bibliographic survey of the fields of science fiction, fantasy, and weird fiction through 1968. 3 vols.
Tymn, Marshall B. and Mike Ashley (eds.)
1985. Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Weird Fiction Magazines.
Weinberg, Robert and Lohr McKinstry.
1971. The Hero Pulp Index.
Wysocki, R.J. (comp.)
1985. The Science Fiction, Fantasy, Weird Hero Magazine Checklist.