Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

Troubleshooting: Common Problems

Can't log in? Can't access full text? Here are tips for solving common problems using library resources.

Contact Info

If you are having problems accessing library resources, you may always report them via email to eresources@lists.bgsu.edu or contact the Research & Information Desk.

Unproxied Resource

If a resource has not been set up in one of our proxy servers, you will see one of the two following error screens (click to display a larger image):

If you are on campus and the URL contains the word "ezproxy," you can remove the EZProxy prepend (in red in the following URL: http://ezproxy.bgsu.edu:8080/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/40651623) and use the resource. Just remove the "http://ezproxy.bgsu.edu:8080/login?url=".

If you are off campus or cannot fix the url, contact the Research & Information Desk. In most cases, they will be able to send you the resource you need via email.

Report the problem by sending an email containing the bad link to eresources (at) lists.bgsu.edu, or by contacting the Research & Information Desk.

403 Error

You may get a 403 error if your library account is expired; contact the Circulation Desk to find out (or look it up in MyBGSU). However, sometimes the 403 error means the server is full and there are no logins available. If that is the case, you should switch browsers and try again, or wait a few minutes and try again OR, if the resource is available through OhioLINK, use the off campus url on the OhioLINK databases page. Note which of the three messages above you're getting and report that, along with whether you are on or off campus, to the Research & Information Desk. You can also email it to eresources (at) lists.bgsu.edu.

Login error

If you enter your username/password incorrectly, your password is expired, or your library account is expired, you may see this screen. To check on the status of your library account, contact the Circulation Desk or look it up in MyBGSU. Check the status of your BGSU password by logging in to MyBGSU. Remember to put your username (without the @bgsu.edu) and password in the boxes on the left side of the screen; the right side is only for users who are not current BGSU students, faculty or staff.

IE and EJC

You may see this error if you click on the "Find it!" button and are using certain versions of IE. Just click on "Find it! at BGSU" to move past the error to the article you need.

Firelands User Error

Unfortunately, not all BGSU library resources are licensed for use at the Firelands campus. Some of these are specialized databases like SciFinder and ARTstor; others are individual ejournal titles. If you see this error and are not a Firelands student, faculty or staff member, please contact the Circulation Desk.

If Firelands is your home campus, you may still be able to use the resource by visiting the Jerome Library on the Bowling Green campus (though not all resources will be available this way): check the resource record by looking in the Databases A-Z list or contact the Research & Information Desk to find out.

If you need an article you cannot download, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.  

Everything Up to Date?

You may experience problems using library resources because of your browser version, Adobe, or browser settings. You may have to update your browser, update your browser plugins, or update your versions of Adobe Reader or Flash. You may also have allow pop-ups or otherwise adjust your browser settings to see all content.

Security Certificate Warnings

Sometimes a conflict between http and https urls in the proxied database url can cause browser security errors. This should rarely happen. If it does, please contact us to let us know.

If you see this error, bypassing the error and creating an exception will allow you to access the database, and should not harm your computer. These videos show how to bypass the errors in Chrome and Firefox.

Chrome error:

Firefox error:

IE-Summon-EZProxy Error

If you are OFF CAMPUS and try to link to something from a SUMMON search USING INTERNET EXPLORER and HAVE NOT LOGGED IN, you will be prompted to log in to EZProxy and then see the screen below. If you click the "click here" link, you will be taken back to the EZProxy login screen, will log in again, and then will merely see this screen again.

Again, 3 conditions must be met in order to see this screen:

  1. You must be off campus
  2. You must have begun your search in Summon
  3. You must be using Internet Explorer

To solve the problem, you can either

1) start over and log in using the "Off campus? Log in now" link on the library's home page below the Summon search box BEFORE searching Summon.

2) use a different browser. 

The text says this:

“Licensing agreements for these databases require that access be extended only to authorized users. Once you have been validated by this system, a "cookie" is sent to your browser as an ongoing indication of your authorization to access these databases. This cookie only needs to be set once during login.

"If you are using a firewall or network privacy program, you may need reconfigure it to allow cookies to be set from this server.

"As you access databases, they may also use cookies. Your ability to use those databases may depend on whether or not you allow those cookies to be set.

"To login again, click here."

Passwords

Certain characters used in a BGSU password can cause library login problems:

  • Dollar sign
  • Period (failure is different depending on whether the period is in the middle or at the end of the password)

If there is nothing amiss with your account, you are using the login page correctly, you are not trying to access a resource you do not have access to, and you have a dollar sign or a period in your BGSU password, you may need to change your SSO through MyBGSU in order to be able to access library materials.

502 Error

If you see this screen, it means our proxy server got overwhelmed. Try a different browser or go through the OhioLINK databases list, using the off-campus url, if possible, in order to move past the error..

EZProxy Prepend

To proxy a link, any link, add this to the beginning of the link:

http://ezproxy.bgsu.edu:8080/login?url=

A proxied link to a JSTOR article would look like this:

http://ezproxy.bgsu.edu:8080/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/40651623