Skip to main content
Historical Canadian Newspapers Online
Search this Guide
Historical Canadian Newspapers Online: Alberta
Links to historical Canadian newspapers that are freely available on the Internet.
Newfoundland & Labrador
Prince Edward Island
ACollection: Alberta Newspapers Collection 1885-2001
ACollection: Glenbow Museum Library Newspaper Clippings 1880s-?
A database that contains descriptions of 15,000 newspaper clippings. The database doesn't include the full text of the articles.
ACollection: Peel's Prairie Provinces: Newspapers 1871-2007
Includes primarily newspapers from Alberta, but has a few from other western Provinces.
ACollection: Southern Alberta Newspaper Collection 1897-1991
Calgary: Calgary Daily Herald 1888-1948
Calgary: Calgary Herald 1929, 1931, 1939-1987
Calgary: Calgary Weekly Herald 1888-1894
Calgary: Daily Herald 1900-1907
Calgary: Weekend Herald 1897-1899, 1901, 1979-1982
Edmonton: Edmonton Journal 1913-1986
Some years are missing
Edmonton: Edmonton Journal Edmonton Bulletin 1946
Lethbridge: Lethbridge Herald 1904-2014
This site includes both the Lethbridge Heald and the Lethbridge Daily Herald.
Lethbridge: Lethbridge News 1886-1900
Lethbridge: Semi-Weekly News 1891-1892
Wainwright: Wainwright Public Library Newspaper Archives 1908-2008
Wainwright Star Chronicle 1908-2008.
British Columbia >>
Jun 19, 2017 11:08 AM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
News & Current Events
Use this guide in Canvas
Linking from a page
Either add a new page, or edit an existing page.
Enter and then select the text that will be linked.
“Link to URL” button in toolbar.
Paste the following URL into the dialog, and “Insert Link”:
Make sure you save your changes.
Embedding in a module
Either create or choose a module, and press the
“Add Content” button next to it.
Choose “External URL” from the “Add to Test Module” dropdown.
Paste the following URL into the “URL” field:
Specify the “Page Name”.
Press the “Add Item” button.
Remember to publish your changes.