Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

Historical U.S. Newspapers Online: Home

A guide to historical U.S. newspapers that are freely available on the Internet.

Newspapers Are Arranged by State

To find the newspaper you want, click on the first letter of the alphabet for the state in which it was published.

 Example: To find the Toledo Blade, click on the "O" for Ohio.

Identify a U.S. Newspaper from a Place and Time

The Library of Congress's web site, Chronicling America has a search engine that will identify United States newspapers that were available in a particular place and time.  Click on this link to connect to the Newspaper Directory.

The Boston Public Library has digitized a number of newspaper directories for various years. If you're trying to identify what newspapers were published in a particular place at a particular time, you can view these directories.

Important Information about Dates of Coverage

If dates of coverage are included in an entry for a newspaper, the source may or may not include all issues within the listed time period. Also, the dates of coverage were correct when they were added to the entry, but may have changed since they were recorded.

Google News Archive

The Google News search box searches back to 1970. It is available at:

In order to search the newspapers in Google News Archive, do a search in a Google search box that includes the term(s) for which you wish to search and include the phrase "" (without the quotation marks) in the search box. For example, to search for articles about Pearl Harbor, do the search: "pearl harbor"

A complete list of newspapers available at Google News Archive is at: That list is arranged by title of the newspaper and provides access to a browsable list of all issues available.


Pages That Link to Internet Sites with Newspapers from Many States.

Author of this LibGuide

Carol Singer
Library Teaching & Learning Department
Rm. 152 Jerome Library
Bowling Green State University
Bowling Green, OH 43403