Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

Theses and Dissertations: Find Theses and Dissertations

BGSU Theses and Dissertations

BGSU theses and dissertations are available either in print or electronically, depending on when they were submitted.

Prior to Fall 2005:  The Jerome Library has print copies of all masters theses and doctoral dissertations granted by Bowling Green State University prior to September 2005. They are searchable in the BGSU Libraries Catalog by keyword, author, and title. Print versions of theses and dissertations are shelved in the main circulating collection on the first floor of Jerome Library, with the exception of those granted by the College of Musical Arts, which are housed on the third floor in the Music Library and Sound Recordings Archive. Microfilm copies are available on the fifth floor of Jerome Library in the Center for Archival Collections.

Fall 2005 and After: The Graduate Council approved the implementation of electronic submission of theses and dissertations beginning with Fall 2005 for all graduate programs. With the exception of theses written in the MFA program in Creative Writing, paper copies will no longer be accepted by the Graduate College. To find theses and dissertations submitted during this time period, visit OhioLINKs Electronic Theses and Dissertations Center (ETD). The ETD Center is a free, online database of Ohio's masters theses and doctoral dissertations from participating OhioLINK member schools. It contains the abstract for all included theses and dissertations. The full-text is also available if it was submitted.  The ETD Center is freely accessible worldwide to anyone interested in searching, viewing, and downloading the theses and dissertations published in Ohio. Using a standard Web browser, users can search the database using basic keyword searching. Authors, university affiliation, and abstracts are all indexed. You can connect directly to BGSU Theses and Dissertations in the ETD.

Databases Containing Theses and Dissertations

American Doctoral Dissertations 1933-1955: The most comprehensive list of dissertations at American universities from this time period.

Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest): Indexes more than 2 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses written in the United States and Europe. It includes citations, abstracts, 24-page full-text previews, and the option to purchase the full text of many of the works. BGSU dissertations from 1997 to present are available through this database in PDF format (Adobe Acrobat Reader is required) at no charge.

Electronic Theses and Dissertations Center (OhioLINK): The ETD Center is a free, online database of Ohio's masters theses and doctoral dissertations from participating OhioLINK member schools, including BGSU. Authors, university affiliation, and abstracts are all indexed and searchable. Dates of covererage vary by institution. BGSU dissertations and theses published in Fall 2005 or after can be accessed via the BGSU Theses and Dissertations page in the OhioLINK Electronic Theses and Dissertations Center (ETD). (Exception: MFA program in Creative Writing are still in print.)

You can also access a complete list of thesis and dissertation databases from the library homepage under "All Databses". Click on "dissertations".

PQDT Open (ProQuest)- This site, which is run by ProQuest, allows users to read the full text of open access theses and dissertations free of charge.

Print Copies of Theses and Dissertations

BGSU Libraries Catalog: The Jerome Library owns print and microfilm copies of all of the dissertations produced at BGSU prior to Fall 2005 and a small number of selected titles from other institutions. They can be located in the catalog using standard author, title, and keyword searching.

OhioLINK Catalog: You can request a dissertation available at another institution using the patron request feature. It will be delivered free of charge within 2-4 business days.

Interlibrary Loan: If no OhioLINK institution owns the dissertation, you may make a request using InterLibrary Loan. To make a request, use ILLiad. First time users will need to create a username and password. The Interlibrary Lian office will try to locate a copy to borrow (minimum 2 weeks).

LibraryH3lp

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Purchase a Copy

Dissertations and Theses (Proquest): Dissertations from 1997 and on are available electronically in a variety of formats through Dissertations and Theses (Proquest). The most economical format is a PDF for $38.00. Follow the "order a copy" link in the database to make a credit card purchase.

Formats and prices as of October 2014 are:

  • $38.00 PDF (immediate download)
  • $39.00 Unbound paper copy
  • $49.00 Microfilm
  • $55.00 Microfiche
  • $56.00 Softcover paper copy
  • $72.00 Hardcover paper copy