Skip to main content
BGSU University Libraries

ARTH 4690/5690: Catalogs & Citation

ARTH Exhibition Proposal Projects LibGuide for ARTH 4690/5690

Exhibition Catalogs

If you are creating an exhibition, you may want to look at published exhibition catalogs, especially on the artist(s) or topic you've chosen. It will help you by:

- giving you ideas of works to include (and their details: size, media, current location)
- helping you think of installation ideas (especially valuable for installation or performance artists or 3- and 4-D media)
- providing examples of catalog essays
- providing a bibliography
- providing an artist's bio or CV details (education, major exhibitions, representation in permanent museum collections)

BGSU Libraries Catalog
To find art exhibition catalogs in the Jerome Library, go to the BGSU Library Catalog advanced search page.

Type your artist's name or topic in the first box, then "exhibitions" in the box below that, and choose "subject" from the dropdown menu.

exhibitions subject search

There will usually be notes in the book's full description to tell you more about the exhibition:

Catalog description

If you don't find anything at BGSU, or what you want is checked out, use OhioLINK or WorldCat. Use the subject "exhibitions" in those catalogs also.

OhioLINK
Search the 93 OhioLINK libraries and request a book to be delivered to BGSU in 3-5 business days. Free and fast!

WorldCat
Search books in thousands of libraries - almost all the libraries in North America, plus major libraries in Europe and Asia. Free, but slower than OhioLINK: books can take several weeks to arrive.

WorldCat search

MLA style

Always follow the instructions given by your professor when citing sources!

Citing books and articles in MLA style

How to cite this journal article from Art Full Text:

Best, Susan. "The Serial Spaces of Ana Mendieta." Art History 30.1 (2007): 57-82. Web. 5 Mar. 2013.

How to cite this exhibition catalog from the Jerome Library:

Viso, Olga M. Ana Mendieta: Earth Body: Sculpture and Performance, 1972-1985. Washington, D.C.: Hirshhorn Museum, 2004. Print.

Citing images in MLA style: captions and in list of works cited

Frank Lloyd Wright chair

Caption:
Fig. 1. Frank Lloyd Wright, Easy Chair, Minneapolis Institute of Arts, Minneapolis.
(Handbook section 4.5, page 118)

In list of works cited, image taken from a website:
Wright, Frank Lloyd. Easy Chair. 1903. Oak, upholstery. Minneapolis Institute of Arts, Minneapolis. Unified Vision: The Architecture and design of the Prairie School. Minneapolis Institute of Arts, n.d. Web. 5 Aug. 2010.
(Handbook section 5.6.2, page 184)

In list of works cited, image taken from a book:
Wright, Frank Lloyd. Easy Chair. 1903. Oak, upholstery. Minneapolis Institute of Arts, Minneapolis. Jennifer Komar Olivarez. Progressive Design in the Midwest: The Purcell-Cutts House and the Prairie School Collection at the Minneapolis Institute of Arts. Minneapolis: Minneapolis Institute of Arts, 2000. Catalog object 6. Print.
(Handbook section 5.7.6, page 200)

General guidelines for figure captions

  1. Label the image Figure (usually abbreviated Fig.) and assign it an Arabic numeral (1, 2, 3...)
  2. Give the image a caption, for example, "Fig. 1. Mary Cassatt, Mother and Child, Wichita Museum, Wichita."
  3. Place the caption directly below the image and give it the same one-inch margins as the text of the paper.

"If the caption...provides complete information about the source and the source is not cited in the text, no entry for the source in the works-cited list is necessary."

General format for work of art in list of works cited

Artist last name, first name. Title of work. Date. Medium of composition. Museum or collection where work is located, city. Source of image (complete citation for book or website, including page number, figure number, or other relevant identifier).

See the Library's MLA style guide and the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th ed. in print (available at the Research & Information Desk) for more info. You can also always make an appointment with the Writing Center in the Learning Commons at Jerome Library for help with citation!